VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 58
Thread
  1. Member Soopafresh's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    News to me, perhaps not others.

    It's pretty cool. I can open h264 MP4 and MKV files directly in VirtualDub 1.8

    http://www.virtualdub.org/beta/DShowInputDriver-0.5.zip

    "Place in plugins32 folder under VirtualDub program directory"

    Here's the whole thread. Read at least the announcement post.

    http://forums.virtualdub.org/index.php?act=ST&f=7&t=15093&s=2b7ec54a6a7a0ac694b810071ccc0a4f

    As a side note, Alpha version of Vdub 1.81 r5 has support for remote rendering ability. You can send the job off from one computer, and another one can execute it.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah i tried it last week.

    i've always used vdub for simple tasks,
    so it's unlikely to substitute anything,
    but it is nice.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2002
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Virtualdub is pretty much the only editor that I use anymore. It can do pretty much everthing I need it to do and with filters in Blend mode and using the Curve Editor with Smart Render, I can do all of my editing without having to recode an AVI. I don't think high end editors can do this.

    The only thing missing is the fancy transitions that you get with expensive editors (wish someone would create at least a dissolve transition for Virtualdub) but you can still get some transitions using the filters in Blend mode and using the Curve Editor with Smart Render.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I've used virtualdub for years. This is good news and a step in the right direction. I still prefer avidemux over virtualdub.

    In virtualdub:
    -direct stream copy doesn't work properly
    -still buggy with .mkv
    -no .mp4 container, no .mkv container (try b-frames and pyramids in .avi and you will see what i mean); you can open them, but you can't save in the same format
    -vfw h.264 still inferior to cli version
    -no aac audio (unless there is a plugin I don't know of)

    I prefer virtualdub when frameserving with avisynth. It is much faster than using the avsproxygui with avidemux
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Ok well i have tried to install this plugin in the correct folder and now i still get the same message when i open a video.mp4 namely .... unable to initialize quicktime: Initializeqtml. I have tried two mp4 files both downloaded from youtube and i have opened them in Gspot and it says that the codec is avc1 and that the status is Codec Status Undetermined. I have ffdshow installed and in the Vfw configuration i have enabled the format. I did a search on google for the avc1 codec and I found out it should be supported by ffdshow. I must doing something wrong here? Could it be the plugin32 folder?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2003
    Location: India
    Search Comp PM
    select the directshow input driver in file type
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    blush blush blush...... Yes now it does work. Thanks mgh!
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Turkey
    Search Comp PM
    i cant open mp4's. i cant see mp4 file types when i select "directshow input driver"
    i did everything as narration
    i put plugins32 folder into virtualdub directory. how can i activate that
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Soopafresh's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Type in *.mp4 in the open window

    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Turkey
    Search Comp PM
    i know there is mp4 files, but i cant see those when i select directshow input driver

    Quote Quote  
  11. Didn't read what Soopafresh said? Type "*.mp4" or "*.*" into the filename field and hit Return. Your files will show up.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Here is another way: Select "all types" in the 2nd box, highlight the .mp4 track in the 1st box (i.e. so the "filename.mp4" is entered in the first box), then go back to the 2nd box and select the directshow input driver
    Quote Quote  
  13. DirectShow input plugin not see all file types because...
    ...just check registered file extensions in registry key...
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Media Type\Extensions
    ...unfortunately, not all splitters add entry with file extension (Haali Media Splitter, yes; Gabest MP4Splitter, not).
    (Is possible add manually 'dummy' entry, but...)
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2002
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    It should be easy to open mp4 files in Virtualdub if you have the Quicktime plugin installed. You'll have to follow the directions in readme text to place the files in the correct place or the plugin won't work (Quicktime.vdplugin goes in the plugin folder and Quicktime.ini goes in the Virtualdub folder).

    Don't install the mp4 plugin since it conflicts with the QT plugin.

    If you have an H264/AVC codec installed then you don't need to enable the H264/AVC decoder in ffdshow. If you don't have one then you will need to enable libacodec for H264.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Turkey
    Search Comp PM
    i get it thanks...
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member AEN007's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    4March2009
    Greetings.
    1) What about adding the DirectShowDriver to the "Tools" section somewhere?
    It would be nice to know if/when someone updates the driver.
    2) I can now open Matroska & mp4 directly in VirtualDub, which is fantastic;
    however, I often receive error messages when trying to encode to avi with the DivX codec.
    I have not yet saved any error message details.
    If anyone can/could help resolve this problem, I would of course gather/submit all the details.
    Any helpful replies/insights appreciated.
    Thank you.
    Regards,
    AEN
    Ć
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by AEN007
    I often receive error messages when trying to encode to avi with the DivX codec.
    My guess is your resolution is too high for the selected profile. For example, the Home Theater profile is limited to 720x480 at 30 fps, or 720x576 at 25 fps.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member AEN007's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    5March2009
    Greetings.
    Thanks for the reply.
    I am familiar with the error to which you refer;
    however, that is not the error in question.
    I have encountered the error to which you refer
    when attempting to re-encode normal avi files with VirtualDub (VDub).
    That error is easily corrected with an aviSynth BilinearResize ...

    This new error message has been occurring only when I have been
    trying to re-encode mp4/mkv video to avi with the DivX codec in VDub.
    I run single pass re-encodes when I would like to test the re-encoding.
    I run multi-pass re-encodes when I am trying to create a finished product.
    The VDub Program Failure (VDPF) window pops up at sometime during
    an initial or subsequent re-encoding pass. The VDPF windows says,
    "Ooos - VirtualDub has crashed. Details are listed below ...
    An out-of-bounds memory access (access violation) occurred in module
    'DShowInputDriver'...
    ... reading address ..."
    The VDPF window lists varying options such as Save/Advanced/Debug ...

    So, the above is an initial reporting of details.
    After such a crash, I have re-run the exact same re-encoding -
    which sometimes then completes successfully or crashes at a different time/location.
    The hardware in question is
    a. an IBM T30
    1gb RAM &
    a Dual-mode, high-performance
    Mobile Intel® Mobile Pentium® 4 Processor-M at 1.8GHz | 400 MHz FSB
    b. a Gateway mx3228
    1 with 1gb RAM &
    a Intel® Celeron® M Processor 370 1 MB L2 Cache | 1.5 GHz | 400 MHz FSB;
    Both laptops have 250gb WD2500BEVE HDDs.

    Any helpful replies/insights appreciated.
    Thank you.
    Regards,
    AEN
    Ć
    Quote Quote  
  19. Originally Posted by AEN007
    After such a crash, I have re-run the exact same re-encoding -
    which sometimes then completes successfully or crashes at a different time/location.
    It sounds to me like your laptop is overheating.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm trying to convert a YouTube video I downloaded. I can play the video fine in WMP.

    I tried opening the file with the DirectShow input driver, but I get this error when I open it.
    "Unable to set filename to media detector: hr = 80040200"

    I also tried the Quicktime.vdplugin but all I get is a green picture with audio.

    VirtualDub 1.8.8 (build 30091/release)
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by vbug
    Hi, I'm trying to convert a YouTube video I downloaded.
    MP4 Or FLV?

    Originally Posted by vbug
    I can play the video fine in WMP.

    I tried opening the file with the DirectShow input driver, but I get this error when I open it.
    "Unable to set filename to media detector: hr = 80040200"
    What have installed DirectShow filters (splitter and decoders) for MP4?

    Originally Posted by vbug
    I also tried the Quicktime.vdplugin but all I get is a green picture with audio.
    What have installed QuickTime or QuickTime Alternative version?
    Try change decoding mode to MoviesTask.
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    edit: I reinstalled ffdshow and I can import videos without an error but I get some weird gray artifacts. See this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EcH7HXzS6Xk (original)

    the YouTube video is in the MP4 container.

    I just installed Haali Media Splitter and got a new error.
    "File (path) does not have a video stream."

    I'm wondering if it's because I'm using the RC version of Windows 7?

    I have the following plugins: QuickTime Alternative, Real Alternative, x264vfw, VobSub, Haali Media Splitter, ffdshow, AC3Filter, DirectShow Input Driver, LAME ACM codec by RareWares [Windows x64 Instructions: run command prompt as administrator, change directory "cd C:\Windows\SysWOW64," enter. Install file from directory, "rundll32.exe setupapi.dll,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 0 C:\lameACM-3.98.2\LameACM.inf"], QuickTime Import by tateu, MPEG-2 & WMV plugins by fccHandler

    Originally Posted by Placio74
    Try change decoding mode to MoviesTask.
    How do I do that?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member themaster1's Avatar
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: France
    Search Comp PM
    use divx 7 to decode h264 it's the best
    Quote Quote  
  24. Originally Posted by vbug
    ...
    Originally Posted by Placio74
    Try change decoding mode to MoviesTask.
    How do I do that?
    When open file set Ask for extended options after this dialog.

    Then, You have access to import options of QuickTime plugin.

    However... for H.264/AVC use rather ICM Decomp mode (for other MoviesTask).


    If have installed VfW decoder, then default mode is... VFW - but then possible some issues (green screen or some other).


    Can save config import options - Save to Quicktime.ini option.

    If VfW decoder is not installed, then default mode for H.264/AVC is ICM Decomp.

    Some other (for FLV, WMV and MPEG-2) input plugins have import options too.

    ---

    Originally Posted by vbug
    ...
    I'm wondering if it's because I'm using the RC version of Windows 7?
    ...
    Hmm... maybe (partly).
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=146910
    VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Just want to say thanks. The above help got rid of the gray artifacts.
    Quote Quote  
  26. I've got 450 mp4 files i need to batch process to avi in virtual dub ... anyone know a way to change the default open file type to DIRECTSHOW for the batch?
    Quote Quote  
  27. Originally Posted by aceburgers View Post
    I've got 450 mp4 files i need to batch process to avi in virtualdub... anyone know a way to change the default open file type to DIRECTSHOW for the batch?
    Good question! Or, at least the same question I have at the moment.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: Sweden
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by bigrig View Post
    Good question! Or, at least the same question I have at the moment.
    I have the same question.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: POL
    Search PM
    same question here, how can you batch if you use directshow plugin to open the files?
    Quote Quote  
  30. Originally Posted by Placio74 View Post
    Try change decoding mode to MoviesTask.
    ...
    When open file set Ask for extended options after this dialog.

    Then, You have access to import options of QuickTime plugin.
    I don't. The file simply "opens": Green screen + audio in VDub x64 (version 1.9.11), and black screen, no audio in VD x32 (version 1.9.10).
    I have the QuickTime.vdplugin filters in their relevant folders
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads