VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. This is a basic question, I know. I have a nice hard drive to record shows, but I don't know what I need to buy and hook up to it to transfer them to DVD. I guess it's a burner, but I'm a newbie at this, obviously. Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    In what format are those shows?

You need a dvd writer and a dvd conversion/authoring software like simple tools like convertxtodvd, dvd flick or if you want more advanced dvd menus tda, nerovision, ulead dvd workshop.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    It depends of what you want as a final format. You can just burn them as DVD data discs if you just want playback on the PC. ImgBurn or most any burning program can do that. Yes, you will need a DVD burner. But they cost less the $30US most times, so not a big expense.

Or you could convert them to DVD. ConvertXToDVD is one simple program for that. Freeware, try FAVC. Use ImgBurn to burn.

Or you could convert them the Xvid/Divx with a program like AutoGK. There are quite a few set top Divx players available.

Lots of other methods and formats, depending on what you want to do.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I just want to transfer shows/movies on the hard drive to DVD-R. I'm not sure I am answering the question you are asking. I want to be able to play them on a regular DVD player. I don't care about putting menus on it.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Then you want ConvertXtoDVD($50) or DVD Flick(free) or FAVC(free). Those create dvd-video that works on regular dvd players.
    Quote Quote  
  6. I didn't think I needed a software program. I want to hook up a burner (I guess) to my DVD recorder (with built in hard drive) and transfer stuff off of it to DVD. Isn't that the easiest way? What do I need? Thanks
    Quote Quote