VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am completely new to video editing world. I have a DVD movie with subtitles in english, french, someotherlanguages. I burnt the DVD on my HDD. I wanted to add Urdu subtitles and then burn it as a new DVD. I checked the forum thorughly downloaded many software such as subtitle creator, subtitle workshop, ifo edit, and many more. I have tried the Baldrick's guide:
    https://forum.videohelp.com/topic338721.html

Unfortunately I am completely unable to do anything.

I want to write subtitles as I watch the movie, that is pause the movie, translate the line, and then save it. I would also like to know how could I watch if the subtitles appear in correct form. I guess we need utf-8 encoding for Urdu language subtitles. Can any one help me how I can do this?

I was using windows movie maker and I am surprised that it adds subtitles beautifully on the movie which i can then convert and burn on DVD. But the problem is that using this way the viewers wont be able to turn off subtitles.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    After another attempt on Baldrick's guide to adding new subtitles to an existing dvd, I have successfully added Urdu subtitles.

Now the problem is that:
    1. The subtitles do not appear when the DVD folder is played with Nero Vision.
    2. Subtitles appear (and they look quite beautiful too) when the same folder is played with VLC.

How do I know that these subtitles would appear on any popular standalone DVD player?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Test your newborn VIDEO_TS folder on Media Player Classic.
    Even better, record it on a RW disk and test it on a real DVD player.
    And don't forget to send Nero Vision to the nearest incinerator.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM