VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have a Toshiba HD-A30 and some files encoded with the H.264/MPEG-4 AVC codecs. The problem is that they are in the AVI container. Is there any way at all that will allow me to play these file on the HD-A30. I have tried burning them to a dvd but it cant play any. Thanks for any help
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I think you have to make/author a hd-dvd on a dvdr, probably easiest with ulead dvd moviefactory.

And check the avsforum, http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=939615 .
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    First, I want to say thank you to this site. I have read it and learned from it for many years now, but this is my first time posting.

The sort of thing hddvd2 is trying to do took me 6 months figure out and to do successfully. Ulead Movie Factory 6 Plus does not work even with the extra HD plugin when it comes to H.264 on HD-DVD. (It odes work for BD though.) The only program that has worked for me is Nero 8 (Vision application) with their HD plugin. Here is what else I learned using a Toshiba HD-A2 as a test player.

- The players will only spin DVD-Rs at high speed. To decode at a rate higher than DVD standard (8000 kb/s), the player needs to spin the disc faster than it would with DVD. So with DVD+Rs (and DVD+Rs bitchanged to read as DVD-ROMs), the players will spin at normal speed and the video skips regardless of media brand because the data is not physically available upon demand. I can only guess that this limitation has something to do with the official DVD forum.

- Nero has a minimum H.264 (AVC) encode rate that is unnecessarily high (13000 I think). But the program will successfully import files with lower bitrates. (Microsoft's VC-1 1080p samples have bitrates of only 8000).