VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I captured my video w/ Premiere. Chopped segments into separate avi files. Composed my DVD with Encore with each one of those avi files as a chapter. The End Action for each of those clips is to go to the next clip. Why is it when playing back, the screen pauses when going from a clip to the next instead of playing smoothly all the way through the DVD. The pauses are more like a second freeze.

I'm a real newbie at this so don't hesitate to ask or suggest the very basic.

Thanks for your help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Are you getting the pausing during Encore Preview, or is it on the settop player?
    As an aside, I would personally keep the .AVI file as a single entity, and create chapter points at the points of interest...
    That way, playback is seamless. You can create buttons on the main menu linking directly to the chapter points on the main timeline..
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Composed my DVD with Encore with each one of those avi files as a chapter.
    To begin, I think there's something you're leaving out. You can't burn .AVI files onto a complieant DVD. I'm surprised you got it to play at all. In fact, I'm surprised you got it to burn.

Are you encoding your files to MPEG first or are you burning a data disc to watch on a DIVX compatible player?

The End Action for each of those clips is to go to the next clip. Why is it when playing back, the screen pauses when going from a clip to the next instead of playing smoothly all the way through the DVD.
    There should be a pause between movies, and that's basically what you've done. You've created a disc with a bunch of different short movies on it. You should, instead, take your long movie file and put chapters in with an authoring application. GUIforDVDAuthor is a pretty good free one. I use DVDLab Pro. A little different to use and not so free.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM