VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, I've been ripping DVD's for about 2 yrs. now with no problems until now. I live in a small trailer, and when I play a movie that's "dynamically" sound oriented (Sound effects, ear shattering) I have to constantly adjust the volume up and down. Makes some of my favorite movies, practically unwatchable.

I've read quite a bit about "normalizing" and demuxing, but not quite sure if this is what I need to do.

I usually rip with dvddecrypter to put the VIDEO_TS file on the hard drive. What I would like to do is get the sound pretty much one level, so I don't have to baby sit the zapper. Which programs are most effective to accomplish this? Thanks for any help. Great site!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Before you make a giant rod for your own back, check out your player, and if you have one, your amplifier. Most have a built-in normaliser that may save you a lot of work. It may be called Normalisation, or Dynamic Range Control or Midnight or Nighttime Mode. Turning this one may solve your problem.

Otherwise you will have to pretty much sacrifice the 5.1 audio in favour of a flattened 2 channel mix.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the feedback gunslinger, I checked and no dice on the built-in normaliser. Not worried about the rod on my back, as I've got lots of time and practically infinite patience. Not worried about losing the 5.1 either. Just hoping for a point in the right directoin, ie: which programs to start with and sequence as far as.:
    1. rip
    2. demux
    3. normalize audio
    4. remux
    5. rebuild dvd
    6. compile

That's just guessing what needs to be done, not positive though, any ideas?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM