VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 30
FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 876
Thread
  1. Hi to all,

    AVANTI 0.2.6 - FFmpeg/Avisynth GUI (June 2008 release) available.

    This version has the following changes:

    ..1.. Improved user tools for complex command line arguments.
    ..2.. Improved and enhanced the "advanced database manager".
    ..3.. Updated codecs/formats database for latest FFmpeg versions.
    ..4.. Adapted database to decode ogg theora (ogg, ogm extensions).
    ..5.. Added ogg theora templates for encoding.
    ..6.. Fixed bug in version overwrite option (database not preserved).
    ..7.. Fixed bug in "Preferences" (some were not updated immediately).
    ..8.. Updated chm help for renewed database manager.


    You can read more and download Avanti 0.2.6 here at
    http://forum.videohelp.com/topic343287.html

    Mainly a version of bug fixes and maintenance to be up-to-date
    before the summer break.

    The codecs/formats database wasn't updated for a long time
    but now contains additions from the latest FFmpeg versions.
    If you use the "overwrite" option to upgrade a older version,
    also read the help chapter of the "Advanced database manager".

    In case of questions or major bug reports (or bad wheather),
    I'll be around for support and/or a revision.

    Chris.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    thanks for the new version
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Ricardo Santos
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by ricardouk
    thanks for the new version
    You're welcome! Nice to know you still appreciate the tool .

    Chris.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    thanks,
    have a nice summer break

    tripp
    Quote Quote  
  5. .
    Avanti 0.2.6 revision 1 available.

    http://forum.videohelp.com/topic343287.html

    Occasionally new FFmpeg versions have changes that are not foreseen and
    this requires the release of a revision to keep Avanti compatible.

    The latest known Windows builds by Ramiro Polla (SVN-r13242) and Sherpya
    (Sherpya-r13537) appear to have revised documentation embedded.
    The codecs list in this versions now includes comments (like the formats list
    already did) and the current Avanti version isn't prepared for that. Reading the
    list into the "Advanced database manager" fails and needs some adapting.

    I also found that muxing with FFmpeg is still tricky and have my doubts about
    m2v/ac3 and m2v/mp2 (AVI muxing does fine for me). The automatic insertion
    of the "-genpts 1" command for m2v is removed to allow some source dependent
    experiments on the command line with the -genpts and -copyts commands.

    Because these builds perform very well and seems to have (almost) all former
    codec problems fixed (Sherpya build still has a broken x264), I decided to
    release Avanti 0.2.6 revision 1 which is adapted for using these versions.

    If you already installed version 0.2.6, you only need to replace the
    "Avanti-GUI.exe" executable. This will preserve your current settings.

    Note: I use revisions when changes only concern bug fixes and/or adaptions.
    The documentation in Avanti packages is highly related to the specific
    version and since there are no new features added, it would give me a lot
    of extra (needless) work to change it all.

    Chris.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    just registered and thanks for the help so far. i'm using this to get xvids on my ps3. works great till i need to "force avisynth". dunno how to do that and can't find it in avanti.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. i've got ffmpeg/avisynth/avanti installed and it works great till i hit a few xvids that are i guess encoded or something wrong.

    thanks..
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by sword_9mm
    just registered and thanks for the help so far. i'm using this to get xvids on my ps3. works great till i need to "force avisynth". dunno how to do that and can't find it in avanti.
    If you right-click on the "Start process" button you'll get a popup menu with three Avisynth modes.
    There select "Enable Avisynth FORCE mode".

    It will only work if you have DirectShow codecs on your system that can play the broken (?) or uncommon xvids.

    Chris.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    thanks a bunch Chris K.

    it still dies on me, guess the xvid is encoded weird. funny though that it's in a series and the few before it work fine.

    you guys have any tips if an xvid won't encode right? these are all dbz episodes. i assume they're all the same but i guess not.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by sword_9mm
    it still dies on me, guess the xvid is encoded weird.
    You can try DIVFIX on it that possibly is able to repair the avi's.

    Chris.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Chris!

    I've been trying to mux an mp3+png into a flv file and Avanti so far has worked but it reconverts the mp3 files, is there any way to bypass the mp3 conversion, just mux mp3+png.

    I tried using ffmpeg and mencoder but the final flv is twice as big, with fmpeg and mencoder (160k mp3 +png) results in a 14mg file, the original sources are less than 7mg

    With Avanti the final size is 7mg but mp3 gets reconverted, can you help? Im using some scripts 45Tripp posted on another thread

    ffmpeg:
    Code:
    ffmpeg -loop_input -f image2 -i video.png -r 1 -vcodec flv -i audio.mp3 -acodec copy -qscale 2 -g 5 -cmp 3 -subcmp 3 -mbd 2 -flags trell temp.avi -shortest
    
    ffmpeg -i temp.avi -vcodec copy -acodec copy video.flv

    Mencoder:
    Code:
    mencoder mf://video.png -mf fps=1/388:type=png -audiofile audio.mp3 -ovc lavc -oac copy -vf harddup -lavcopts vcodec=flv:vqscale=2:keyint=5 -ofps 1 -of lavf -o final.flv

    Avanti:


    If i choose "mux audio" it tells me to "Please load UNI_MUX_SETUP template to set MUX environment.", i load that template, choose settings but aerror message appears:


    Thanks
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Ricardo Santos
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    well frifox wanted the best quality.
    if you want you can set them so as not to use cq encoding,
    also the ffmpeg command can be done in one now:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -loop_input -f image2 -i video.png -r 1 -vcodec flv -i audio.mp3 -acodec copy -b 50k -g 5 -cmp 3 -subcmp 3 -mbd 2 -flags trell video.flv -shortest
    Code:
    mencoder mf://video.png -mf fps=1/388:type=png -audiofile audio.mp3 -ovc lavc -oac copy -vf harddup -lavcopts vcodec=flv:vbitrate=50:keyint=5 -ofps 1 -of lavf -o final.flv

    for avanti,
    i think i once made a 'copy' codec in the database.
    i think i keep forgetting to ask Chris for a 'stream copy' option as i'm still waiting
    on ffmpeg ogm remux to be fixed.

    one way of doing it is to use the -new function,
    in the video options at the beginning add this:
    Code:
    -new -i "@source1" -i "@source2" -dvs -acodec copy
    and at the end this:
    Code:
    -y "@destin1"


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  12. Hi Ricardo,

    I've tried this variant on the -new suggestion by Tripp and it worked (with some restrictions):

    Code:
    -new -loop_input -i "@source1" -i "@source2" -dvs -acodec copy -shortest -y "@destin1"
    Take the settings as on your screenshots but don't set audio to mux. Just leave it as in the first picture.
    All audio settings are ingnored anyway with -acodec copy on the command line.

    You won't get progression display.
    Just wait patiently for the "Process successfully finished after ..... hms" message.

    I tried with a mp3 of 938.7 kb and the final flv became 1,4 mb.

    Chris.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    Hi 45tripp
    Thanks for the scripts, it works.

    Chris and Tripp adding that bit at the beggining/ end, without or without quotes doesnt work, this is the code that appears, can you show me where to add it?
    Code:
    -g 160 -cmp 3 -subcmp 3 -mbd 2 -flags aic+cbp+mv0+mv4+trell -sws_flags lanczos
    Altough a bit off topic(sorry), i use this method to upload music to youtube, but Avanti files are smaller, apart from the size and bitrate they have the same characteristics , the ffmpeg and mencoder videos get reencoded by youtube loosing a lot of quality, the video produced by avanti that uses ffmpeg doesnt get reencoded. All 3 methods use same settings, same sources, what can be affecting the encode by Avanti that doesnt let youtube reencode the video? One thing i did notice is that in the first 2 videos i can skip the video forward, if i try to do that on the 3dr video(avanti) i get redirected to the beggining of the video.


    Code:
     
    
                           ffmpeg             mencoder           avanti
    General #0
    File size           : 10.4 MiB        : 10.8 MiB         : 7.67 MiB
    PlayTime         : 6mn 28s         : 6mn 28s         : 6mn 28s
    Bit rate            : 224 Kbps        : 234 Kbps        : 166 Kbps
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Ricardo Santos
    Quote Quote  
  14. This is the complete command line with the hq tweaking included:

    Code:
    -new -loop_input -i "@source1" -i "@source2" -dvs -g 160 -cmp 3 -subcmp 3 -mbd 2 -flags aic+cbp+mv0+mv4+trell -sws_flags lanczos -acodec copy -shortest -y "@destin1"
    Also attached a modified flv template. As I said... don't mind the audio settings, they are ignored.

    uni_flash_hq_mod.7z
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    the diff is what Chris added to the commandline:
    Code:
    -loop_input
    .......
    Code:
    -shortest
    with it you get a sekable stream,
    without you sorta a get a bastard single frame matched to the audio, can;t seek the single frame.
    take it as a reserved bonus, no re-encode but with no seeking.


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks Chris and 45Tripp for the explanations and "fix".
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Ricardo Santos
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I just downloaded this and I'm just trying to merely create FLV files, but I don't even have Flash listed as a codec. Why is that? I've downloaded ffmpeg.rev12665.7z and moved the ffmpeg files into Avanti's directory. Any clue?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Never mind, I just loaded the template and registered the codec, and created my first FLV. Pardon my ignorance
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Well I've been messing with the modded template and if I set it to 20fps, the picture becomes blurry after ten seconds and progressively so until the end of the song. But when set to 10fps it appears to retain the original picture quality to the end, although it does become slightly muddy. Any idea why this is? The source picture is JPEG btw.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    well it's a moot point, because 1fps is more than enough for a single frame.

    but if you insist...
    left bitrate at 50k?
    you'll have to increase it substantially.
    or use qscale encoding.


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Well the reason I don't use 1fps is because the resulting videos don't seek.. is there a way around this at 1fps?
    Yeah I left it at 50K so I will up it, thanks
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    ok, i'd not spotted it in the commandline,

    replace
    Code:
    -g 160
    with
    Code:
    -g 1

    and resave the template

    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hey I just tried this but the overall bitrate won't get past 400K no matter how high i set the video bitrate. I'm using flash_hq_mod. I've added -g 1. How can I increase the video bitrate substantially?
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    what ever for?

    you don't.
    -qscale 1 is as far as you can go with flash

    insisting, you can increase framerate, resolution
    that'll increase where you can fgo to.



    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi everyone. I apologize if this is in the wrong place, but I have some questions.

    First, what is the best video scale algorithm for downsizing videos? Second, is there a tutorial for using the VBR feature? What are the best values to enter there in order to optimize the file size, say for a 5 minute video at 750 kb/s?

    Also, is Avanti still being developed?
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dark_guard
    First, what is the best video scale algorithm for downsizing videos?
    debatable.
    i use lanczos for up and down.
    others use spline for up and down.
    some say one better for up and another for down, and the inverse,
    some like a simple bicubic for down, i don't like the softness.
    try them out.
    pick one

    Originally Posted by dark_guard
    Second, is there a tutorial for using the VBR feature? What are the best values to enter there in order to optimize the file size, say for a 5 minute video at 750 kb/s?
    what are you referring to exactly?
    what's your source what's the goal?

    Originally Posted by dark_guard
    Also, is Avanti still being developed?
    does that mean you have a request,
    a suggestion, a bug to report?

    Chris K still maintains it.


    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by 45tripp
    try them out.
    pick one
    I did, but I can't tell the difference. I was wondering if there was some subtle difference between them all that I didn't notice.

    Originally Posted by 45tripp
    what are you referring to exactly?
    what's your source what's the goal?
    My source is a .vob file from a dvd. My goal is a .flv video that I will upload to youtube.

    Originally Posted by 45tripp
    does that mean you have a request,
    a suggestion, a bug to report?
    Nope. Just wondering.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dark_guard
    I did, but I can't tell the difference. I was wondering if there was some subtle difference between them all that I didn't notice.
    the difference is in sharpness, and possible artifacts.

    Originally Posted by dark_guard
    My source is a .vob file from a dvd. My goal is a .flv video that I will upload to youtube.
    vob, ntsc.
    most probably progressive.
    the best way to handle is to get dgindex
    import the vob. press F5, check "video type" anything with film over 95% means you can 'force film'.
    'video'->'field operatin'->'forced film'
    press F4 to save project.
    you'll get a .d2v file.
    install avisynth if you havent already.
    open a txt editor (notepad)
    dgindex came with DGDecode.dll, place it somewhere convenient, or note it's path.
    in the text write:
    Code:
    LoadPlugin("path\DGDecode.dll")
    MPEG2Source("moviename.d2v")
    save as 'movie.avs' in the folder containing the .vob and .d2v.
    now treat 'movie.avs' as your movie.
    i'e drag it into Avanti's input.

    for flv, the hq flash template in Avanti is as good as it gets.
    just change bitrate and resolution

    that's sorenson spark,
    i've not really been following the later testing on youtube,
    http://forum.videohelp.com/topic336882.html
    but i see success in putting h264 up.

    There aren't ready good templates for that in Avanti.
    but you can make one.


    Originally Posted by 45tripp
    does that mean you have a request,
    a suggestion, a bug to report?
    Originally Posted by dark_guard
    Nope. Just wondering.
    if you come up with a comment,
    post it.


    gl
    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member nbarzgar's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2004
    Location: Germany
    Search Comp PM
    I've got a question conerning interlaced mpeg4(XViD)-material:

    I've got some files which are interlaced (AviSynth-Test shows "TFF"), but reported progressive in apps like MPEG4Modifier and which don't play well on my standalone.
    Seems the device reads the flag and presumes progressive content; esp. annoying when I want to jump back/forth or ffwd, etc.
    So on doom9's forum I already learned that I would have to re-encode the files.

    I tried AVANTI for that job, and the outcome is really fine - so first I want to say: Thank you, Chris K!!

    But the files again are interlaced (I'd like to keep them that way - I de-activated "Deinterlace" in AVANTI), and again are reported as being "progressive".

    Is this an option I would have to add in the commandline for ffmpeg? And if so, how would I do it?

    Thanks for any help!
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Triptonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by nbarzgar
    So on doom9's forum I already learned that I would have to re-encode the files.
    indeed

    nice to hear you like Avanti

    Originally Posted by nbarzgar
    Is this an option I would have to add in the commandline for ffmpeg? And if so, how would I do it?
    Code:
    -flags ilme+ildct
    note: for lavc that is,
    you can't do it with xvid within ffmpeg


    gl
    tripp
    "I'll give you five dollars if you let me throw a rock at you"
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads