VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Was wondering if anybody could help, I purchased a flat screen newer monitor and was messing w/ my settings to try to get it to display correctly, only to find out my computer and video card or something is outdated and cant display a wide screen correctly.....without looking fuzzy. So, I am going to take that back but now onto the problem im having.

    I hooked back up my old cheap 17" monitor but now everything is thrown off and it looks horrible. The text is displaying really small. And the webpages border where you x out a window or minimize is huuuge.

    Does anyone know what the standard is for this type of monitor - what should my resolution be? Also I messed with the DPI setting what should that be set at??

    Right now its at 120 DPI + 1024x768 (prior to messing with settings for the new flat screen everything looked good, now its screwed and i dont remember the settings any help would be appreciated)
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Try 1280x1024. See if the windows look like they did.

    Then play with text size.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    Go to control panel/display and adjust dpi setting to 96,that will make your icons go back to normal settings.For new lcd monitors you set the resolution to max for the best screen quality,that the native resolution of lcd flat screen monitors.1680x1025 for 20 inch and up.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Great ill try that out now

    Since this recent flat screen didnt work out for me correctly I am going to take it back and get something not widescreen and hopefully compatible with my video card/graphics. Any ideas what kind of flat screened monitor I should be looking at (I'm running off Intel (R) 82865g Graphics Controller)?

    I know this computer is a few years old but im sure it should be able to display a flat screen correctly, as when i bought it a few years back there were others like it included in the bundle w/ a flat screen. I thought the one i purchased recently would work out the box but i guess you have to keep the graphics/video in mind hrug:
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    The monitor should work properly,just set it to the highest wide screen mode,you will run into the same problems with other lcd monitors if you dont set it to the native resolution which is the highest wide screen it can go to.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  6. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: 666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    johns0 - maybe you might have meant 1680x1050???

    willhenderson - you should make sure you have the latest drivers for your integrated video.
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Product_Filter.aspx?ProductID=1044&lang=eng
    it may support the monitor.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  7. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by aedipuss
    johns0 - maybe you might have meant 1680x1050???

    willhenderson - you should make sure you have the latest drivers for your integrated video.
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Product_Filter.aspx?ProductID=1044&lang=eng
    it may support the monitor.
    Ya,meant 1680x1050
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0
    Originally Posted by aedipuss
    johns0 - maybe you might have meant 1680x1050???

    willhenderson - you should make sure you have the latest drivers for your integrated video.
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Product_Filter.aspx?ProductID=1044&lang=eng
    it may support the monitor.
    Ya,meant 1680x1050
    Im on XP Pro the first would be the correct to get right as far as updating goes?
    1.) Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator Driver (exe) (5166KB)
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_results.aspx?strTypes=all&ProductID=1044&OSFull...4&submit=Go%21


    Originally Posted by johns0
    Ya,meant 1680x1050
    Thats the thing that is strange, my computer only lets me go up to 1280x1024, which i just tried like the first post suggested but its too small
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    Brand names and model numbers would be more helpful.

    To get Ws resolutions you will likely need the latest drivers for your video chipset as noted above.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  
  10. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    Another thing that can cause your resolution not to go higher is your monitor driver,make sure its set for your model and not have default setting.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Krispy Kritter
    Brand names and model numbers would be more helpful.

    To get Ws resolutions you will likely need the latest drivers for your video chipset as noted above.

    I am on a old Emachines T4852 on the settings Ive took a screenshot here is the text, of my monitor Intel Graphics 2 after the update:


    INTEL(R) EXTREME GRAPHICS 2 REPORT


    Report Date: 12/13/2007
    Report Time[hr:mms]: 13:04:56
    Driver Version: 6.14.10.4396
    Operating System: Windows XP* Professional, Service Pack 2 (5.1.2600)
    Default Language: English
    DirectX* Version: 9.0
    Physical Memory: 495 MB
    Minimum Graphics Memory: 16 MB
    Maximum Graphics Memory: 96 MB
    Graphics Memory in Use: 6 MB
    Processor: x86
    Processor Speed: 2795 MHZ
    Vendor ID: 8086
    Device ID: 2572
    Device Revision: 02


    * Accelerator Information *

    Accelerator in Use: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller
    Video BIOS: 2972
    Current Graphics Mode: 1024 by 768 True Color (60 Hz)



    * Devices Connected to the Graphics Accelerator *


    Active Monitors: 1


    * Monitor *

    Monitor Name: Plug and Play Monitor
    Display Type: Analog
    Gamma Value: 2.98
    DDC2 Protocol: Supported
    Maximum Image Size: Horizontal: 12.5 inches
    Vertical: 9.4 inches
    Monitor Supported Modes:
    640 by 480 (60 Hz)
    640 by 480 (85 Hz)
    720 by 400 (70 Hz)
    800 by 600 (60 Hz)
    800 by 600 (75 Hz)
    800 by 600 (85 Hz)
    800 by 600 (100 Hz)
    1024 by 768 (60 Hz)
    1024 by 768 (75 Hz)
    1024 by 768 (85 Hz)
    1280 by 1024 (60 Hz)
    Display Power Management Support:
    Standby Mode: Supported
    Suspend Mode: Supported
    Active Off Mode: Supported

    * Other names and brands are the property of their respective owners.


    What flat screen would be best to get that is supported for my computer/graphics? I am really lost and am just trying to update a bit with times and get rid of my huge crt monitor that takes up a bunch of space



    This is the monitor i took back and couldnt get to display correctly w/ out the text looking fuzzy:

    Envision H22W 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor
    Features include a 1680x1050 resolution, 1000:1 contrast ratio, 5ms response time, 300 cd/m2 brightness, and VGA input.
    Quote Quote  
  12. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: canada
    Search Comp PM
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member Krispy Kritter's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: St Louis, MO USA
    Search Comp PM
    You also need to update the monitor driver. As noted above, you are using a generic "Plug and Play Monitor". The monitor drivers should be included with the monitor or you should be able to get them from the manufacturers website. The correct monitor drivers will list the appropriate widescreen resolutions.
    Google is your Friend
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads