VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Normally I'd enter: "http://192.168.1.1/" and then the username and password but they're not being accepted, what should I do?

    Should I call TechSupport or is there anything I can do myself?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: Want my advice? PM me.
    Search Comp PM
    Look in the book for how to reset it.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member MJA's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2005
    Location: IL
    Search Comp PM
    reset the router with a pin .
    after the reset the user name is admin,and password is admin too (not 100% sure) I have the wrt54g and thats what i remember

    192.168.1.1 is Linksys
    Quote Quote  
  4. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2002
    Location: AZ, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Most routers have a small hole in the back for a reset switch. You use a paper clip or similar. You will lose your settings, though. But you will likely lose them with any reset.

    Most times, depending on the router brand, the login is 'admin' or similar. The default password is none on some brands. So you just click 'enter' on your keyboard. If you did add a password you can't remember, the reset is about the only cure. If it doesn't have that switch, then get in touch with the manufacturer.

    Of course if you told us the name and model of your router, someone here may have some better ideas.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: Want my advice? PM me.
    Search Comp PM
    Visit the manufacturers online KB (website knowledge base)
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by redwudz
    Of course if you told us the name and model of your router, someone here may have some better ideas.
    I'll try that later tomorrow, thanks for the help... I'll post back then.

    Also the router is a Linksys WRT54GSV4.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member drjtech's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: Northern Virginia
    Search Comp PM
    After reset the password will be admin and the username will be blank.

    -drjtech
    They that give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty or safety.
    --Benjamin Franklin
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member painkiller's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2002
    Location: Planet? What Planet?
    Search Comp PM
    I've had a problem in the past involving my router.
    Maybe my notes will help you (according to Linksys support & the manual).
    -------------------------------------------

    Save Settings (within router) is affected by ZoneAlarm.
    Shutdown Zonealarm before modding/resetting router.

    01/09/07
    Linksys firmware corruption caused disconnect to DSL/internet
    Called Verizon, tested line, tested modem. Okay.
    Transfered to Linksys.
    800-326-7114

    Eventually had to shutdown Zonealarm.
    Hardware reset of Linksys router. (for 30 seconds, hold reset button on back of router. Need pencil or straight pin/paperclip.)
    Then power off for 5 seconds.

    Ready when power LED becomes steady and Cisco light on.

    To talk/login to router directly:
    http://192.168.1.1

    userid is blank (don't enter anything)
    pwd is admin.

    [EDIT] After resetting the router, the userid and password is defaulted to the factory settings, which is why the userid is blank and the only thing you enter is the admin password.

    Be sure to change it later, and store your login somewhere (else).
    Whatever doesn't kill me, merely ticks me off. (Never again a Sony consumer.)
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2002
    Location: South Florida
    Search Comp PM
    On my Linksys router the password is admin and user name is left blank.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2002
    Location: Costa Rica
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Akabane Kurodo
    Also the router is a Linksys WRT54GSV4.
    For these Linksys, just press the reset button for 30 consecutive seconds. This will reset the whole configuration to default settings.

    Then just use pepegot1 comments for user and password.

    You will also need to configure all your router parameters as they will be the factory ones.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Look on the bottom of the router quite often the reset and password are there.
    Corned beef is now made to a higher standard than at any time in history.
    The electronic components of the power part adopted a lot of Rubycons.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Or on a nearby Post-it.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads