VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    How can I get rid of the horizontal lines in my video. If you check out the video in full screen you can see the lines.

    http://www.stage6.com/user/Mysteriouskk/video/1923140/Project-Gotham-Racing-4-HD-Test-720p

    I captured to MJPEG and converted to Divx. I believe the original fps was 59.94.
    Quote Quote  
  2. That's some impressive stuff - I can't see any horizontal lines other than some typical CGI stuff that you see in CAD such like. Is that what you mean? From your description I was expecting to see heavy interlacing (which 59.94 fps would give). Perhaps my player is configured differently (?)
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Here are some imgs of the jaggies that I see: (Click on the pictures for their full size)





    Quote Quote  
  4. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    That is an aliasing issue, either from resizing, or simply because it comes from a CG source that isn't anti-aliasing well. If you are resizing, explain how - filters/tools etc. If not, there is probably little you can do to fix it as it is a function of the source.

    Something else to consider : is Stage 6 showing this back at the full resolution. if stage6 is resizing on the fly for display, you may well get artifacts that won't appear if yo download and play the file back at full resolution. Again, if this is what is occurring, you either have to live with it, download the files for playback, or resize to match the stage6 display window.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger
    That is an aliasing issue, either from resizing, or simply because it comes from a CG source that isn't anti-aliasing well. If you are resizing, explain how - filters/tools etc. If not, there is probably little you can do to fix it as it is a function of the source.

    Something else to consider : is Stage 6 showing this back at the full resolution. if stage6 is resizing on the fly for display, you may well get artifacts that won't appear if yo download and play the file back at full resolution. Again, if this is what is occurring, you either have to live with it, download the files for playback, or resize to match the stage6 display window.
    Yea, you're right, I just changed the original video to fit exactly in stage 6's windows:

    http://www.stage6.com/user/Mysteriouskk/video/1923370/Project-Gotham-Racing-4-480p-Test-HD

    Looks a lot better
    Quote Quote  
  6. It's not a resizing error.

    Turn off the "Swap Decompress Fields" feature in your MJPEG decoder.

    swap vs no swap:

    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Ohhhh!!!! thanks so much!!!
    Visit http://www.cgaming.com for 720p and 480p Game Videos from the Xbox 360 and Wii
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by Mysteriouskk
    I just changed the original video to fit exactly in stage 6's windows:

    http://www.stage6.com/user/Mysteriouskk/video/1923370/Project-Gotham-Racing-4-480p-Test-HD

    Looks a lot better
    Yes, it looks better but all you've done is blur the errors away. Fix the MJPEG setting and your full res video will look fine. If you're using PicVideo:



    If you're using VirtualDub, the "Field Swap" filter does the same thing.

    By the way, what are you capturing with?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    The Sknet Monster X card

    Oh yea, it looks a lot better now using the swap fields:

    http://www.stage6.com/user/Mysteriouskk/video/1923648/Project-Gotham-Racing-4-HD-720p-...th-Swap-Fields
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads