VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi I'm still new at all this and really need help I have a sony 60 inch SXRD 60A2020 tv I got last week wich says it will play at full 1080 hd I then got a pioneer DV 400 dvd player wich upconverts to 1080 p and 1080 i when my wife and I sat down to whatch a movie the (the holiday)I set the upconversion resolution to 1080 p on the dvd player and the movie flickerd continuosly and then did the same with 1080i and 720 it didnt play right until I set the dvd player to 420 so when does it upconvert to the better resolution I do have and upgrade next week on my sattelite tv to HD will this be full 1080 HD and do I need a blue ray or HD dvd PLayer to get 1080 0r even 720 on dvds what s all the hype about 1080 if I cant achieve it or is the pioneer not the right player, any help on this would be greatly appreciated,Thank to all,Alan
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    We need a little more information in order to help you.

Between which connectors on the DVD player and the TV are you connected?

The DVD player will most likely not upconvert to 1080p over anything but an HDMI connection. 1080i would be the only 1080 signal you could get via component video. Using any connectors other than component video or HDMI will not yield any HD signal.

There are no cable or satellite HD signals in 1080p. Most are either 720p or 1080i.

The only source from which you will be able to receive 1080p is your DVD player, using HDMI.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi thank you for the reply currently I am using a HDMI connectio between the dvd player and the tv
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM