VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm new to the Mac world, and have done much of my work in Windows and linux. I have some old video that was imported from Pannicle Studio on Windows that is stored in mpeg-2 format. I would like to convert these .mpg files to anything that will be able to be imported into. I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on the command line of ffmpeg (as I have a linux box with it also), or the ffmpegx options. Just not sure what iMovie will import as what I have tried (avi/dv) did not take. Ideas?

Quella
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Whatever format (.mov/.mp4/.dv) you import into iMovie, will be converted to DV anyway. So to reduce the number of transcodes, you may as well convert to a .dv stream (which is slightly different from an dv-in-avi-wrapper).
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thank for the reply. I did seem to have issues when I tried DV (AVI) as iMovie did not see it as a valid import. If oyu use handbrake or some other tool to convert witg, can you provide any additional info on the conversion options I would need? I tried "ffmpeg -i mpeg2movie.mpg -t dv newmovie.avi" and that this not work. I tried Handbrake and told it to convery to quicktime, which iMovie liked, but it said that it would take 435minutes to create the images after the import. Ideas?

Quella.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I would use the Mac GUI app ffmpegX or else MPEG Streamclip to convert MPEG-2 to DV.

ffmpegX sets a lot of options, giving a command line something like this:
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i infile.mpg -y -threads 2 -map 0.0:0.0 -f dv -vcodec dvvideo -b 25000 -aspect 16:9 -s 720x576 -r pal -g 240 -me epzs -qmin 2 -qmax 15 -acodec pcm_s16le -ab 1411 -ar 48000 -ac 2 -map 0.1:0.1 -benchmark outfile.dv
    Substitute PAL for NTSC, frame size value and 16:9 for 4:3 as needed.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM