VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello Folks,

Just some quick background. I am fairly new to video editing but I have been using a PC forever. I want to be able to capture video from some old VHS tapes and burn the video to DVD. I would also like to be able to take video from say a Camcorder and create movies with transitions and such. I have the following hardware:

Pinnacle Capture Card (PCI) that was sold with Stuido 9
    Pinnancle Studio 9 Software
    Nero 7 Ultra
    Duo core E6600 PC with GeForce 7950 Video Card (PC is about 6 months old)

Does any one have an opinion on my Pinnacle Capture Card? The card is a PCI card. How about Nero vs Pinnacle Studio? I have read some good things about Roxio. I am not really sold on either Nero or Pinnacle. I find both difficult to use.

Would you recommned something completely different?

Thanks, Bill
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    My Friend who is a professional video editor for documentaries says there is only one (PC) video editing program "Adobe Premiere CS3", the rest are just toys.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    At consumer level try Premiere Elements, Sony Vegas Movie Studio or ULead Video Studio. All have demos.

Or learn Virtualdub (free) or Virtual VCR.
    http://virtualvcr.sourceforge.net/

I'm not sure if the Pinnacle card works with other software. It might be possible to capture using your camcorder. Does it support "Analog PassThrough" to DV?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by snowbabe
    My Friend who is a professional video editor for documentaries says there is only one (PC) video editing program "Adobe Premiere CS3", the rest are just toys.
    Your friend needs to stop using hallucinogenic drugs, but Premiere is nice enough if you can handle the awkward work flow, frequent crashes and Adobe idiosyncrasies.