VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have been working for several months, and frequently referring to guides and this forum, attempting to work with various video formats. Recently I've experienced several files that when trying to play using VLC v08.6c are reporting "This AVI file is broken. ....." pop-up; when I ask that it repair it, it appears to do so but doesn't remember what it's done; at least it will play. On the other hand, if I tell it not to repair it, it also works just fine. I can play using WMP v11.0.6 however as I close that program it frequently report that "WMP has stopped working" (under Vista) and no solutions is ever provided.

I've attempted to repair these AVI's using DivFix (versions 1.10 and 1.13beta); VirtualDub; and DivXRepair. None ever report finding any problems, yet when I attempt to invoke again in VLC I get the same error. Using DivFix I've (1) checked for errors - none found, (2) stripped the index, and then (3) rebuilt the index.

I have a couple files that are in mkv format that I've wanted to convert to avi's. I followed Baldrick's guide "How to convert MKV to AVI using mencoder." I tried successfully using both examples he provided. The mkv plays fine in VLC, method one produced a file that doesn't play, method two produced a file that plays but began bringing up the "This AVI file is borken" box and it takes a very, very long time to jump ahead when viewing the video.

Can anybody suggest solutions. Even though I have "played" with video for years, compared with most folks on this site I would consider myself a newbie. Sometimes I seem to know enought to be dangerous, but not effective. I've exhausted things I know to try, despite all the good advice given here.