VideoHelp Forum
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Ever since ImgBurn was released, members here have been praising it, and saying it is better for burning DVD video than Nero, but I have yet to hear an explanation as to why this is so.

I have been using Nero for a couple of years, and have had good results, as long as I used quality media. I have used ImgBurn too, and it's fine, but I haven't found anything I like more about it, other than the additional choices available for burn speed. Just curious as to what the other reasons its fans have for preferring ImgBurn.

2. ...C O P Y L E F T JohnnyBob's Avatar
    Search PM
    I had no problem burning single layer DVDs with Nero and I burned quite a few. I switched to ImgBurn when I decided to start using DL discs, because Nero wouldn't burn them correctly. They would play on my computer's optical drive but not on my standalone DVD player. That's my main reason. Also ImgBurn makes it fairly easy to select a point in the movie for switching from the 1st to the 2nd layer (the layer break). That's important because a slight pause is usually involved. I believe there may also be other advantages of a technical nature with make ImgBurn more reliable, because the author is highly knowledgable in this area. For example I've heard that it's important to include certain padding when burning discs that were edited with DVD Shrink, and I think ImgBurn does so automatically. After you get over the initial hurdle, ImgBurn is also simple in design and easy to use. It's a matter of confidence, I suppose.

Search Comp PM
    Imgburn is free, small, efficient, and burns DVD Video correctly.

Nero is bloated, not free (OK, you probably got the cut down version for free with your drive), contains 296 different parts that all do things I don't need in a very mediocre fashion, and butchers dual layer discs.
    Read my blog here.

Search Comp PM