VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2007
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I am trying to install this language program called Rosette Stone on my laptop, but when I hit the run installation button, it's giving me this:

    Error executing file.
    E:\setup.exe
    The requested operation requires elevation.

    @_@ I have no idea what to do. Please help. I have windows vista. So, I have tried to go to command prompt, righ-clicked it, and chose "run as admin". And a black screen popped up. What I am supposed to do next?

    Please help me. I have been trying to install this program for like 10 hours now.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    http://technet2.microsoft.com/WindowsVista/en/library/0d75f774-8514-4c9e-ac08-4c21f5c6....mspx?mfr=true

    Come down to : Scenario 3: Configure User Account Control

    You may be out of luck with that program , not fully compatable with vista .
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Join Date: Aug 2002
    Location: beautiful
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Hikari112
    I am trying to install this language program called Rosette Stone on my laptop, but when I hit the run installation button, it's giving me this:

    Error executing file.
    E:\setup.exe
    The requested operation requires elevation.

    @_@ I have no idea what to do. Please help. I have windows vista. So, I have tried to go to command prompt, righ-clicked it, and chose "run as admin". And a black screen popped up. What I am supposed to do next?

    Please help me. I have been trying to install this program for like 10 hours now.

    You should log in as Admin and install it from there
    When you run setup.exe s admin, you do exactly just this: the setup.exe is executed with elevated priviledges. Just this file. Im not sure about Vista as I dont use it, but normally the elevation is not inherited, so if there are other files that the setup.exe need to copy/install/dowhatever (if it is not just single executable) then thats exactly what should happen, since the other files are still run from your account (not as admin), capiche? Vista ain't linux, fake sudo (aka "run as admin") won't work the same way
    Apologies if I cant explain better hehe :P

    But thats just "elevation" problem.
    Installer may still crap out if the program itself wasnt written for NT6 (ie simply different variable in Vista can already crap it).
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    In Vista, turn off User Accounts Control.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Don't turn off UAC - many things will not install correctly with UAC turned off.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Try right clicking on the setup.exe file and run as admin.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Location: United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I had this problem installing Office 2003 in Vista. I turned off UAC and it installed correctly. I should have said that you need to turn it on again.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    @Hikari,

    It's been a couple of months since your initial post, but if you're still having problems with this: I just installed the old 2.0.8.1a version of Rosetta Stone on my Vista HP machine with no problems. I had been running it on my old XP box for a couple of years but hadn't gotten around to loading it onto the new computer yet.

    It installed with no problems. To install, I right-clicked on the setup.exe and ran it as Administrator (don't know if this was necessary or not). After installing, I loaded up the SpanishI disc and the lessons ran just as they had on XP. No problems yet, knock on wood.

    I have UAC set to "quiet mode" via TweakUAC http://www.tweak-uac.com/ (sort of a short-cut to what Bjs suggested above). This mode doesn't turn off UAC but it does suppress elevation prompts. Again, I don't know if this was necessary for the install or not (I doubt it). If you've got a newer version of the program it may have problems with Vista that the older one doesn't.

    Thought I'd let you know in case you have a copy of the old version laying around somewhere. I've read that it's compatible with all but a few of the language packs (the newest ones).
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm not a computer expert but I was able to install Rosetta Stone V2 with a little on-line help (here and elsewhere) and patience.

    First problem, the set-up disc would not self-launch on my daughter's laptop (Vista Home Premium), but it would launch on our home desktop (Vista Home Basic) and my laptop (XP). I closed all the anti-virus and mal-ware programs on her computer and it self launched.

    Next problem was the "requires elevation" error message when trying to download. I solved that by turning off UAC. I suppose I could (should?) now go back in an turn UAC back on (the anti virus/malware programs will restart on their own).

    Its up and running and she is enjoying learning Japanese.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Here is how i did it, i am running win7 home 64 bitI opened my computer, right clicked on the dvd rom drive selected open, then right clicked on setup then run as admin this solved my problem maybe it will help you as well.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Banned
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Draminicus View Post
    Here is how i did it, i am running win7 home 64 bitI opened my computer, right clicked on the dvd rom drive selected open, then right clicked on setup then run as admin this solved my problem maybe it will help you as well.
    i hate to be another douche that response to an old thread, but you do realize that OP posted his question august 24 2007? i'm going to go out on a limb here and speculate that in the 3 and half years since he asked, he probably was not only able to install the software, not only learn the language he wanted to learn pretty well but also got laid once or twice in that time frame by being able to impress the girl (guy?) of his dreams with his ability to speak another language.
    Quote Quote  
  12. i hate to be another douche that response to an old thread, but you do realize that OP posted his question august 24 2007? i'm going to go out on a limb here and speculate that in the 3 and half years since he asked, he probably was not only able to install the software, not only learn the language he wanted to learn pretty well but also got laid once or twice in that time frame by being able to impress the girl (guy?) of his dreams with his ability to speak another language.
    Yeah there is that but if I remember correctly, people often search old forums like this if they happen to have an issue, now I know people never have the same issue with the same solution here on the interwebs, but just in case they do I added my post to let people know that this method did in fact work on Win7, so if someone comes looking for an answer #1 there will be step by step instructions #2 there is conformation that this process will work on their OS.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member classfour's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2002
    Location: The Heartland, United States
    Search Comp PM
    Grave Digging? No doubt the help is appreciated, but the thread is old.
    ;/ l ,[____], Its a Jeep thing,
    l---L---o||||||o- you wouldn't understand.
    (.)_) (.)_)-----)_) "Only In A Jeep"
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads