VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Preface: I have spent hours searching these forums and cannot find exactly what I'm looking for.

I am relatively new to ripping music video DVDs to MPEG2 for PC playback. I've tried ripping them using Vegas 7.0, but I get an error at 99% completeion that says "an error has occured and Vegas cannot open one or more files".

Do I need particular software to rip these DVDs to MPEG2? I'm assuming that Vegas 7.0 cannot do these particular discs. I would like to rip them to the following format: MPEG-2 files at 4.5Mbps VBR, 720x480 frame size (full frame), 48khz - 192kbps MPEG audio.

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Ripping means the transfer of files from DVD to hard disk.

What you want is the specific conversion of the VOB files back to mpeg.

Firstly, try VOB2MPG - this will convert the DVD VOB files to mpeg with no re-encoding.

If you want to be more specific about bit-rates, I suggest using DVD2AVI in conjunction with TMPGEnc.
    Regards,

Rob
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Vegas can use mpeg files. It can also load VOB files, however it's support for VOBs is designed specifically for handling the simple VOBs created by DVD cameras.

4500 kbps is getting down to the low end of full-D1 encoding. If the videos have any action expect to see artifacts and blocking.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Can Vegas bypass copy protection?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    First rip your DVD by writing complete VIDEO_TS folder to HDD using free DVDFabDecrypter (if your DVD is protected). Then use TMPGEnc MPEG Editor (not free) to import its content by title. It reads DVD from ifo files that ensures no audio/video synch problems unlike if you use separate VOBs in other software. Output as MPEG2 (nothing re-encoded of course). You can also cut out anything you don't want at this.