VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    I donít know what has gone wrong. I had been using DVDStyler for a couple of weeks with only one minor problem, which was solved. It has just started to give me two errors which I cannot figure out how to fix. One is when Iím creating a motion menu, the other when I use a still menu. Iím creating a simple DVD with only one actual menu in use. The other(s) is a dummy menu(s). I reset the settings, but continued to get errors. I uninstalled it, removed remnants from the registry, reinstalled, but still get the same errors.

    Please help if you can. Thanks.

    I've included an image of the core settings (at the bottom). Since the command line for Jpeg2Mpeg is too long, I've included it here:

    Jpeg2Mpeg command: jpeg2yuv -n $FRAMES -I t -L 1 -f $FRAME_RATE -j '$FILE_IN' | mpeg2enc -f 8 -b $BITRATE Ėo '$FILE_OUT' $VIDEO_NORM (I'm hoping it's something here that is causing the problem, although it would be weird since it used to work "as-is")

    Here is the log for still images:
    Summary:
    Prepare
    Generating menus
    Failed


    Details:
    Prepare
    Cleaning temporary directory
    Generating menus
    Generating menu 1 of 2
    Prepare
    Converting jpg to mpeg
    INFO: [jpeg2yuv] Parsing & checking input files.
    **ERROR: [jpeg2yuv] System error while opening: "C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVDs\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg.jpg": No such file or directory
    **ERROR: [mpeg2enc] Could not read YUV4MPEG2 header: system error (failed read/write)!
    Error executing of command: jpeg2yuv -n 1 -I t -L 1 -f 29.97 -j 'C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg.jpg' | mpeg2enc -f 8 -b 9000 -o 'C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg.m2v' --video-norm n --frame-rate 4

    Here's the log for motion menus
    Summary:
    Prepare
    Generating menus
    Failed


    Details:
    Prepare
    Cleaning temporary directory
    Generating menus
    Generating menu 1 of 2
    Prepare
    Fix MPEG-file: C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity avi''s\Stargate Infinity Motion Background.MPG
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 0.25%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 5.12%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 10.25%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 15.12%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 20.25%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 25.13%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 30.25%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 35.12%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 40.25%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 45.12%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 50.25%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 55.11%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 60.23%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 65.10%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 70.23%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 75.10%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 80.22%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 85.08%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 90.21%]
    DemultiplexingXXX : [audio 01 video 01] [ 95.08%]
    Demultiplexing : [audio 01 video 01] [100.00%]
    INFO: [???] mplex version 2.0.0 (2.2.3 $Date: 2004/01/13 20:45:26 $)
    INFO: [???] File C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg-0.m2v looks like an MPEG Video stream.
    INFO: [???] File C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg-0.mp2 looks like an MPEG Audio stream.
    INFO: [???] Video stream 0: profile 8 selected - ignoring non-standard options!
    INFO: [???] Found 1 audio streams and 1 video streams
    INFO: [???] Selecting dvdauthor DVD output profile
    INFO: [???] Multiplexing video program stream!
    INFO: [???] Scanning for header info: Video stream e0 (C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg-0.m2v)
    INFO: [???] VIDEO STREAM: e0
    INFO: [???] Frame width : 720
    INFO: [???] Frame height : 480
    INFO: [???] Aspect ratio : 4:3 display
    INFO: [???] Picture rate : 29.970 frames/sec
    INFO: [???] Bit rate : 6800000 bits/sec
    INFO: [???] Vbv buffer size : 229376 bytes
    INFO: [???] CSPF : 0
    INFO: [???] Scanning for header info: Audio stream c0 (C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_bg-0.mp2)
    INFO: [???] MPEG AUDIO STREAM: c0
    INFO: [???] Audio version : 1.0
    INFO: [???] Layer : 2
    INFO: [???] CRC checksums : no
    INFO: [???] Bit rate : 16384 bytes/sec (128 kbit/sec)
    INFO: [???] Frequency : 48000 Hz
    INFO: [???] Mode : 0 stereo
    INFO: [???] Mode extension : 0
    INFO: [???] Copyright bit : 0 no copyright
    INFO: [???] Original/Copy : 0 copy
    INFO: [???] Emphasis : 0 none
    INFO: [???] SYSTEMS/PROGRAM stream:
    INFO: [???] rough-guess multiplexed stream data rate : 7074400
    INFO: [???] target data-rate specified : 10080000
    INFO: [???] Setting specified specified data rate: 10080000
    INFO: [???] Run-in Sectors = 89 Video delay = 13019 Audio delay = 0
    INFO: [???] New sequence commences...
    INFO: [???] Video e0: buf= 237568 frame=000000 sector=00000000
    INFO: [???] Audio c0: buf= 4096 frame=000000 sector=00000000
    INFO: [???] Scanned to end AU 2477
    INFO: [???] STREAM e0 completed @ frame 2477.
    INFO: [???] STREAM c0 completed @ frame 3443.
    INFO: [???] Multiplex completion at SCR=7439652.
    INFO: [???] Video e0: buf= 227793 frame=002477 sector=00018868
    INFO: [???] Audio c0: buf= 640 frame=003443 sector=00000655
    INFO: [???] VIDEO_STATISTICS: e0
    INFO: [???] Video Stream length: 38043011 bytes
    INFO: [???] Sequence headers: 166
    INFO: [???] Sequence ends : 1
    INFO: [???] No. Pictures : 2477
    INFO: [???] No. Groups : 166
    INFO: [???] No. I Frames : 166 avg. size 34242 bytes
    INFO: [???] No. P Frames : 660 avg. size 21834 bytes
    INFO: [???] No. B Frames : 1652 avg. size 10864 bytes
    INFO: [???] Average bit-rate : 3680800 bits/sec
    INFO: [???] Peak bit-rate : 7760000 bits/sec
    INFO: [???] BUFFERING min 17 Buf max 197234
    INFO: [???] AUDIO_STATISTICS: c0
    INFO: [???] Audio stream length 1322496 bytes.
    INFO: [???] Syncwords : 3444
    INFO: [???] Frames : 3444 padded
    INFO: [???] Frames : 0 unpadded
    INFO: [???] BUFFERING min 15 Buf max 395
    INFO: [???] MUX STATUS: no under-runs detected.
    Multiplexing subtitles (buttons) into mpeg
    DVDAuthor:pumux, version 0.6.14-GfD-1.
    Build options: gnugetopt iconv freetype
    Send bugs to <gfd@boraxsoft.de>
    2 [main] spumux 1088 _cygtls::handle_exceptions: Exception: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION
    330 [main] spumux 1088 open_stackdumpfile: Dumping stack trace to spumux.exe.stackdump
    Error executing of command: spumux 'C:\Documents and Settings\Louv68\Desktop\Stargate Infinity DVD's\Temp\dvd\menu0-0.mpg_spumux.xml'


    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  2. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    I would first be checking permissions and space of your root HDD.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger
    I would first be checking permissions and space of your root HDD.
    guns1inger,
    I'm the administrator on the machine and there is plenty of space left?

    I'm an intermediate user, not a power user, so please bare with me. How do I go about checking if my OS (XP Pro) has switched permissions on me without my knowledge?

    Thanks
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  4. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    It is unlikely to have changed permission, and if you have an administrator account that most likely isn't the problem. I just notices one of the non-highlighted errors was from trying to load a file that doesn't exist, so I was looking for a cause.

    The log also recommends emailing Borax for help. He is a frequenter of this board, but is on holidays for a couple of weeks. The best I can recommend at the moment is that you try uninstalling DVD Styler, rebooting, then installing it again. Otherwise, be patient until Borax returns.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Is this a common thing, for the OS to change permissions w/o your knowledge? A while back on a W2k machine, VobBlanker no longer would start right up. Windows would first ask if it was OK to run the program. I never made any changes. It just started doing that on its own.
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  6. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    No, it's not common, although I have seen a couple of odd things in my time. If it has happened then it could be a virus or some other malware. I would put that to one side for the moment and concentrate of a few other basics first.

    1. Have you installed anything new recently ? Codecs, Codec Packs (god forbid), a new version of avisynth ?

    2. If you look at the folders in the error logs, do they exist ? Is there anything in them ? They should be easy to check as they are on your desktop.

    3. Is your disk partitioned ? If so, do all partitions have space ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    1. Have you installed anything new recently ? Codecs, Codec Packs (god forbid), a new version of avisynth ? Yes, I installed K-Lite Codecpack Full 2.77 linked from The FilmMachine home page, which the software author recommends. This was the only way I was able to get The FilmMachine to work. Should I uninstall it and use a different Codec(s) in its place? It seems most "All-in-One" software packages include their own installation of avisyinth, so this could be a possibility. They do not seem to recognize avisynth is already installed on the system and install it again. I have gone into Add/Remove Software and spotted a few instances of avisynth. If I remove one, one or more applications that uses it stops working.

    2. If you look at the folders in the error logs, do they exist ? Is there anything in them ? They should be easy to check as they are on your desktop. Yes they exist, and files from the authoring process are in there.

    3. Is your disk partitioned ? If so, do all partitions have space ? The disk is not partitioned. I must have 60GB or so left on the drive.
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member dadrab's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: State of Denial, U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, I installed K-Lite Codecpack Full 2.77
    Lose it. I've read many times on these boards that those things reek.

    It seems most "All-in-One" software packages include their own installation of avisyinth, so this could be a possibility.
    Hmmmmm. I've never run into this as I don't use "one-click-wonders," but perhaps if you uninstalled (not just delete) all old instances and then download and install one good one, you'll be in better shape.

    The disk is not partitioned. I must have 60GB or so left on the drive.
    When's the last time you defragged the drive? Run your scan disk and defrag. Perhaps that'll help too. I have all my drives set to defrag once a week.

    I can't help with the rest of the questions. Apologies.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Ran Antivirus - none
    Ran Spyware check - none detected
    Uninstalled KLite Codec pack & installed Xvid codec
    Uninstalled ffdshow and installed most up-to-date version.
    Uninstalled avisynth and installed most up-to-date version.

    = DVDStyler working again

    Thank you for the suggestions. Much appreciated.
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    It does not work again for some reason. It just stopped working, giving the same error as before. I thought this application was the best thing since sliced bread and doubly so, since it's freeware. It's incredibly easy to create great looking menu's with this thing "when it's working". Since the developers over at SourceForge don't have the common courtesy to reply to my forum message or email, I will not be sending a "job well done" donation anytime soon. I am an advocate of donating to the cause, especially when software is provided as freeware, but in this case, I'll be keeping my money.
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    I believe I have finally solved this problem once and for all. The problem was DVDStyler did not like the temp folder having special characters. I removed one, and it is working again. Funny enough, this quirk is not mentioned in the operation manual. A quick email from the developers stating this minor problem would have been nice.
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  
  12. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    The developer might not have been aware of the issue. It is unusual to have odd characters in the temp folders under most circumstances. I would not have found it on my system because I always set up a Temp folder in the root of each drive, and redirect output to there. I hate all the crap that builds up under Documents and Settings.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member louv68's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Minneapolis, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger
    The developer might not have been aware of the issue. It is unusual to have odd characters in the temp folders under most circumstances. I would not have found it on my system because I always set up a Temp folder in the root of each drive, and redirect output to there. I hate all the crap that builds up under Documents and Settings.
    To help clarify what temp folder I'm referring to....it's actually the Default Folder in the settings which the user can change. Prior to starting to author the DVD, DVDStyler pops up a final dialog box named Burn, which allows you to set the Temp Folder, which I believe is the Default Folder\Temp\DVD => it adds these two subfolders. It is this folder(s) that I believe cannot contain special characters. At least in my case, it was an apostrophe. Removing it fixed the problem.
    -The Mang
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads