VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Okay I need to get all the footage off my camera before we leave for Costa Rica tonight, and I cannot open these .mts files with any program I have, let alone convert them to mpeg. I have TMPGENC Xpress 4.0, which was reccomended, and it doesn't recognize them.

Could someone please post a very simplified guide of how to convert one of these mts files to mpeg (high quality). I'm a really big newb at this.

I have all the .mts files on my desktop right now. (there weren't any .mt2s files though, i hope that's okay?)

I really don't want to sacrifice any quality either.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Okay I dont have any mt2s files, i just have mts. Is that the same?
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I would try Videoredo.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    If you have them , you could try and edit the file this relates to .

When you unpack the vdub package , go into the template folder .
    You will find a file called "m2ts.avst"

Create a folder called backup here

Copy this file to the backup folder

Go into backup folder

Rename file to

mts.avst

Now open this file in notepad

Where you see

m2ts

Change it to

MTS

Just save file

Copy this file from backup folder to template folder

Run virtualmod , and follow the guide

Mts will show in that list ... it might work .

----

I would add that the desktop is not the place to be storing such large files ... windows dose have its quirks .
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    As discussed at http://www.highdefforum.com on 10/06/2006

Considering you current pc specs , I would recommend looking at ulead videostudio 11 ... far more options than TmpgencXpress v4 , and costs around the same .

http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite/us/en/Product/1175714229358