VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I just obtained a ADVC-110 to capture video from my camcorder and DISH Network PVR. I am new to all of this so please be patient. I want to save the output to my new home theater PC and then watch it on a plasma flat panel. What is the best format in which to capture the recordings and what would be the best software program? And, to watch on a large screen plasma or LCD (42"-50") what would be the best capture software? Would I have to capture in AVI and then transcode (is that the proper term) to another format to watch on plasma/LCD? Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    The canopus is a DV-AVI capture device, you really have no choice but to capture to DV-AVI*. Anything will work as long as it's DV-AVI, all the encoding is done by the device, your computer simply records what it sends to it. This produces about a 14 gig per hour file. WinDV is a free application, you can use windows movie maker too.

From there it depends on what you want to do with it? DVD? Just leave it on the HD as a file? you can reduce this 14gig file quite a bit.

*You can use software like Ulead's Video Studio or Movie Factory for encoding to MPEG on the fly or others to other formats but this pretty much negates the benefits of having a ADVC in the first place.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    If you are using a ADVC-110, you don't have any choice in the matter. It is a hardware DV-AVI converter and that's all it outputs. But for a transfer program, I use WinDV. ScenalyzerLive is also popular.