VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

I have a couple of downloaded series in AVI format (and I believe they have DivX codec) that I wanted to burn onto DVD. The episodes are each about 22 to 25 minutes long. I don't know anything about DVD burning software, but I was considering getting Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6 (the standard edition), because it's not too expensive, and it looked like it could be a good one.

I have a few questions about this software:

1) Is it any good to begin with? haha..

2) Are you able to burn multiple episodes to the DVD, or are you forced to use only one video file per DVD?

3) With this software, are you able to use video files from your computer, or does video have to be ripped from an already existing DVD?

I have a feeling that the last question probably has an obvious answer, but I'd like to know anyway. Haha.. I feel sortof dumb asking, but I'm very new to all this DVD burning stuff.

Thank you in advance!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I use version 4:

Originally Posted by cheeseandcrackers
    1) Is it any good to begin with? haha..
    It's OK for an all-in-one (conversion, mastering, burning) application. It's pretty easy to use. It's not the best, fastest, or most flexible app.

2) Are you able to burn multiple episodes to the DVD, or are you forced to use only one video file per DVD?
    You can include as many individual files as you want. In version 4, if you add more than will fit on a DVD, you have to manually adjust the bitrate. I don't know if newer versions will automatically adjust the bitrate.

3) With this software, are you able to use video files from your computer, or does video have to be ripped from an already existing DVD?
    You are not limited to DVD rips. You can use DV AVI files from a camcorder, downloaded AVI files etc.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Heck, I'm still using version MF2 and the same things apply...
    Have a good one,

neomaine