VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am looking into editing my home videos on windows movie maker then copying them to DVDs. Im a novice when it comes to computers so i just need a little help with one or two things.

Once i have editied my video, i publish it to computer then use Nero 7 to burn it to DVD. As nero will only let me burn AVI files to DVD, i need to publish my videos from Windows movie maker as AVI files, but the problem there is 30mins of footage equals about 7GB and obviously my DVD-R discs are only 4.7GB.

Is they anyway I can reduce the size of the AVI file, but yet still maintain a good quality video resolution. I ask this as I downloaded a 1hr 20min film the other day which was about 800mb and was a AVI file, the quality of the video was very very good.

The next question is: do i still get the same quality video resolution if i copy my videos as WMV files to super Video CD?

Does anyone have any advice or tips for me??

Thanks
    Lee[/b]
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What is the source of your home video files? DVD, DV camera, VHS....
    "Art is making something out of nothing and selling it." - Frank Zappa
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by leegutcher
    I am looking into editing my home videos on windows movie maker then copying them to DVDs. Im a novice when it comes to computers so i just need a little help with one or two things.

Once i have editied my video, i publish it to computer then use Nero 7 to burn it to DVD. As nero will only let me burn AVI files to DVD, i need to publish my videos from Windows movie maker as AVI files, but the problem there is 30mins of footage equals about 7GB and obviously my DVD-R discs are only 4.7GB.
    What is the source format of these "home videos"?
    Are you talking about DV camcorder video? These are 13GB/hr if you want quality.