VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi - I just installed ffmpegx, I downloaded the 3 other components and installed them from within ffmpegx. I then dlownloaded the "reallib" folder and put it in the app support/ffmpegx folder. Now when I open a real media file (which I previously downloaded), the video and audio windows say "none" and when I hit the play or the encode button, I get an error pop up saying "Applescript Error. Can't get text item 2 of 'Binary file (standard input) matches'. (-1728)"

I'm a ffmpegx newbie, but I'm 99% sure I installed everything correctly. Are there any suggestions?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Downloading a sample.rm file with Safari may result in the file wrongfully being renamed to sample.rm.ram.
    Mplayer, the ffmpegX decoder for Real files, treats .rm files different from .ram files: .rm files should be self-contained media files, while .ram files should be small locater files, containing only an URL.
    If this has happened, rename your file to reflect its true status and try again to see if ffmpegX recognizes it better then.
    The (512 KB) linked file above with just the .rm suffix is well recognised and played by ffmpegX's mplayer on my system. If it does so on your system too, then reallib is installed correctly. The Play button in ffmpegX should confirm it.
    If mplayer can handle some of your Real files but not others, then you may be out of luck, as not every variant of Real media out there is supported by (the current version of) mplayer+reallib.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Looks like you did everything correctly.

Try creating a symbolic link to the real codecs (which should be the same as putting them in the app-support folder).

Use "terminal" app and type:

ln -s /Applications/RealPlayer.app/Contents/Frameworks/HXClientKit.framework/HelixPlugins/Codecs \
    /Library/Application\ Support/ffmpegX/reallib