VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member foaley77's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2002
    Location: Adelaide ,Australia
    Search Comp PM
    I have just Hooked up my Soundcard Creative Live to My RXV 800 Amp using a Coax cable and a Mono 3.5mm Jack.

    The only sound I can get is PCM Stereo Im using the latest VLC program and have played with the settings and it still does not work can anyone suggest anthing I have tried about 5 Different x264 files and they all do the same thing

    I have it hooked to number 7 on the left hand side

    http://www.superfi.co.uk/images/RXV800rearlg.gif

    plugged in the orange plug

    http://www.adam.com.au/foaley77/IMG_2838.JPG

    http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/461b7a3b0b35b1ec2740c0a87f9c071e/Product/View/C1706

    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=PA3500&CATID=&keywords=rca+mon&SPECIAL=&fo...Max=&SUBCATID=
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    x264 is a video codec, it has nothing to do with audio. What is the audio format?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member foaley77's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2002
    Location: Adelaide ,Australia
    Search Comp PM
    codec : AC3 5.1
    bitrate : 640 kpbs
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member foaley77's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2002
    Location: Adelaide ,Australia
    Search Comp PM
    A normal dvd does not work either
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member thevoelk's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2004
    Location: Forest Hill, MD
    Search Comp PM
    To get my HTPC working, I had to go into the Creative Mixer, then to Settings, then playback, and then check the box that says "Digital Output Only". It may be my receiver, but the volume seems a lot lower than from other sources. Hope that helps.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Had a look at VLC and I don't see any S/PDIF output setting. You might need to use a different player such as mplayer which like VLC uses internal decoders.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member foaley77's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2002
    Location: Adelaide ,Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by thevoelk
    To get my HTPC working, I had to go into the Creative Mixer, then to Settings, then playback, and then check the box that says "Digital Output Only". It may be my receiver, but the volume seems a lot lower than from other sources. Hope that helps.
    I have all ready done this

    VLC has S/PDIF When I use it the Amp brings up Digital but the sound skips what does this mean?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Useful Idiot Phlexor's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2001
    Location: Rowville, Victoria, Au
    Search Comp PM
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member foaley77's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2002
    Location: Adelaide ,Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Cheers Mate
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads