VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Is there a way to make one video clip/file which contains two video files running side by side? (In sort of a split screen.)
    Quote Quote  
  2. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Several ways. Many editor support picture in picture type effects. Avisynth has the StackHorizontal statement.

    What tools do you have, and what output do you want ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  3. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2003
    Location: Down under
    Search PM
    AVISynth and the StackHorizontal() command should do it.

    A sample script would be something like the following:

    Code:
    clip1=AVISource("c:\path\to\file1.avi")
    clip2=AVISource("c:\path\to\file2.avi")
    StackHorizontal(clip1, clip2)

    This produces:

    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Please excuse my ignorance, but the script that I was trying to use is giving me an error when I try to use it in virtual dub.

    This is what I was trying to use:

    clip1=AVISource("c:\1.avi")
    clip2=AVISource("c:\2.avi")
    StackHorizontal(clip1,clip2)


    What am I missing here?



    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2003
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    It is looking in the root directory of Drive C: and not finding the clip. You need to edit your script to where the files really are.

    Plus that is a bad place to put any files. You should keep the root directory of any hard drive free of clutter. Be very careful deleteing any files from C:\ or you could end up not booting as there are hidden files there that are needed to boot windows.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by TBoneit
    It is looking in the root directory of Drive C: and not finding the clip. You need to edit your script to where the files really are.

    Plus that is a bad place to put any files. You should keep the root directory of any hard drive free of clutter. Be very careful deleteing any files from C:\ or you could end up not booting as there are hidden files there that are needed to boot windows.
    I understand what you are saying, but the location of the files on the script is were the files are located. I tired putting them in a dfferent location on my computer, but I thought maybe I was messing the location of the files up on the 1st time I tried it. So that is why I just moved them to C:\ so there would be no way that I could get the location of the files wrong.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    clip1=AVISource("F:\video1.avi")
    clip2=AVISource("F:\video2.avi")
    StackHorizontal(clip1, clip2)

    Mine works.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Silly question, and no offense intended, but have you installed avisynth ?
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Is there any way to accomplish this with Vegas 6?
    Quote Quote  
  10. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2004
    Location: Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    Load the two clips onto separate timelines and use Track Motion to position each frame within the visible screen
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Sweet. Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger
    Silly question, and no offense intended, but have you installed avisynth ?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by guns1inger
    Silly question, and no offense intended, but have you installed avisynth ?

    Yes........
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2003
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    I use AvsP. AvsP is a text editor built for AviSynth and has a built-in preview window so you can see the results.

    Simply right-click - insert source - browse and double click on your video1.avi.
    Click the start of that line and type in clip1 =.
    Right-click - insert source - browse and double click on your video2.avi.
    Click the start of that line and type in clip2 =.

    Right click - select Show Function Definition - then cancel - then scroll down and find StackHorizontal then click-click then select copy. Close box. Paste command into script. Type (clip1, clip2)

    Click the black up arrow at the bottom of screen to view your stacked videos (scroll --> to see the second video if needed)

    Makes writing scripts a lot easier....

    Good luck.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2006
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks!!!

    Is there a way to stack 4 videos
    2x2
    Quote Quote  
  16. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2003
    Location: Down under
    Search PM
    Yep. There's a guide in the guides section written by Truman that has a number of AVISynth examples, including a 2x2 stack. You might have to change the search criteria from new guides to all guides to find it though.

    Basically you create two seperate horizontal stacks as shown in this thread, then vertically stack them together (or vice-versa).
    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2006
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Can you please give an example, cos I got nfi how I'd go about writing script for stacking twice vertically and horizontally.

    I'm fine doing it once.
    Quote Quote  
  18. A=AVISource("C:\Path\To\Video1.avi")
    B=AVISource("C:\Path\To\Video2.avi")
    C=AVISource("C:\Path\To\Video3.avi")
    D=AVISource("C:\Path\To\Video4.avi")
    StackVertical(StackHorizontal(A,B),StackHorizontal (C,D))
    Quote Quote  
  19. VH Veteran jimmalenko's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2003
    Location: Down under
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by spanky123
    Can you please give an example, cos I got nfi how I'd go about writing script for stacking twice vertically and horizontally.

    I'm fine doing it once.
    I don't know what part of
    Originally Posted by jimmalenko
    There's a guide in the guides section written by Truman that has a number of AVISynth examples, including a 2x2 stack.
    you didn't understand, but ...



    Here is the guide I was talking about:
    http://www.videohelp.com/guides.php?guideid=120#120

    And here is the code in question:
    http://forum.videohelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=99389#crop

    Although it should be mentioned that this is for showing the same video in the 4 quadrants. Manono's script is for 4 seperate videos.
    If in doubt, Google it.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2006
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks. Sorry.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads