VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Is there software for upconverting SD video to HD 1080i?

    Googling did not yield any results but I have heard that there is software that can do this.

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hi-

    AviSynth can do it for you, if I understand you correctly. It can resize it, telecine it, if necessary, even sharpen it up a bit. It can then frameserve to the encoder of your choice. The whole exercise sounds kind of pointless to me, though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Soopafresh's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, you can do it, but it won't look very good at all.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manono
    Hi-

    AviSynth can do it for you, if I understand you correctly. It can resize it, telecine it, if necessary, even sharpen it up a bit. It can then frameserve to the encoder of your choice. The whole exercise sounds kind of pointless to me, though.
    What I am looking for is the 'encoder of your choice'? I am not aware of an mpeg encoder that will allow you to specify 1920x1080, do you know of one that will?

    BTW I whole heartedly agree that it would probably not look good but I am one of those people who has to see it for myself.

    Below is the thread where DrP claims this software exists and that the result looks pretty good!

    http://www.videoredo.net/msgBoard/showthread.php?p=17183#post17183
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by videomaniac
    Originally Posted by manono
    Hi-

    AviSynth can do it for you, if I understand you correctly. It can resize it, telecine it, if necessary, even sharpen it up a bit. It can then frameserve to the encoder of your choice. The whole exercise sounds kind of pointless to me, though.
    What I am looking for is the 'encoder of your choice'? I am not aware of an mpeg encoder that will allow you to specify 1920x1080, do you know of one that will?

    BTW I whole heartedly agree that it would probably not look good but I am one of those people who has to see it for myself.

    Below is the thread where DrP claims this software exists and that the result looks pretty good!

    http://www.videoredo.net/msgBoard/showthread.php?p=17183#post17183
    I took a look at the URL and DrP seems pretty sure there is a fair amount of software that will do the SD to HD. However, I can not seem to find anything!

    I have Procoder, CCE and few other mpeg encoders and none of them let you output anything even close to 1920x1080. I will keep looking!!
    bits
    Quote Quote  
  6. TMPGEnc Plus will let you encode at 1920x1080 if you pick one of the High profiles.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    many mpeg encoders will do hd ...

    main concept
    tmpgenc
    canopus
    pixel tools
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by BJ_M
    many mpeg encoders will do hd ...

    main concept
    tmpgenc
    canopus
    pixel tools
    Which Canopus product? I have Procoder Express and it does not allow it.

    I have just downloaded TMPGenc Plus Trial and I can not find a way to do it, although there may be restrictions on the trial.

    I will check out Pixel Tools. ---> At $4,000.00 this in not really an option!

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  9. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    pixel tools is 4000$

    canopus procoder does HD

    tmpgenc does HD


    main Concept does HD


    use high level, main profile in all the cases above ...
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  10. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    no one ever said hd is cheap ...

    and to get really really good upconversion quality takes a lot of skill and time (or a lot of money)
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  11. TMPGEnc:

    Setting -> Video

    Unlock the "Profile & Level" field and set it to "High Profile and High Level (HP&HL)".

    Then set the frame size. And remember to use a much higher bitrate than normal.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Yeah, DrP is talking about the same thing I had in mind. If you're handy with AviSynth, you can get some very surprising results. Here are a couple of threads that might help you:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=70916

    Page 7 of that thread has some pics with before and after.

    LimitedSharpen is my favorite AviSynth sharpener:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=84196

    Here's an AviSynth page to get you started with LimitedSharpen. I use LimitedSharpenFaster.:

    http://www.avisynth.org/LimitedSharpen

    Some (most?) of those guys in those threads are doing this for AVI (XviD mostly). There's nothing that says it has to be for MPEG-2. Use a good high bitrate matrix and the results can be astounding.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    TMPGEnc:

    Setting -> Video

    Unlock the "Profile & Level" field and set it to "High Profile and High Level (HP&HL)".

    Then set the frame size. And remember to use a much higher bitrate than normal.
    Thanks! I found it and it is working.

    manono wrote:
    Yeah, DrP is talking about the same thing I had in mind. If you're handy with AviSynth, you can get some very surprising results. Here are a couple of threads that might help you:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=70916

    Page 7 of that thread has some pics with before and after.

    LimitedSharpen is my favorite AviSynth sharpener:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=84196

    Here's an AviSynth page to get you started with LimitedSharpen. I use LimitedSharpenFaster.:

    http://www.avisynth.org/LimitedSharpen

    Some (most?) of those guys in those threads are doing this for AVI (XviD mostly). There's nothing that says it has to be for MPEG-2. Use a good high bitrate matrix and the results can be astounding.
    Thanks also! I will look more at this tomorrow.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Sounds interesting. If anyone actually tests these things then please report back with your results.

    TC
    My Dell PC system info.....3.4 Ghz Quad Core i7 processor....... 12 gigs of ram DDR3...... Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.......video card Nvidia GTX 650
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member Noahtuck's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    You do realize this is a 4 year old dead thread.... right ?


    The OP has not even been on site for 3 years!!
    LOL!!
    Originally a member since 2001, LONG LIVE TARAN's!!!
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: calif
    Search PM
    Power DVD 10 does a pretty good job, but it only works on files. You would have to rip the files on to your hard drive.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads