VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Is there software for upconverting SD video to HD 1080i?

    Googling did not yield any results but I have heard that there is software that can do this.

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hi-

    AviSynth can do it for you, if I understand you correctly. It can resize it, telecine it, if necessary, even sharpen it up a bit. It can then frameserve to the encoder of your choice. The whole exercise sounds kind of pointless to me, though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Soopafresh's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, you can do it, but it won't look very good at all.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manono
    Hi-

    AviSynth can do it for you, if I understand you correctly. It can resize it, telecine it, if necessary, even sharpen it up a bit. It can then frameserve to the encoder of your choice. The whole exercise sounds kind of pointless to me, though.
    What I am looking for is the 'encoder of your choice'? I am not aware of an mpeg encoder that will allow you to specify 1920x1080, do you know of one that will?

    BTW I whole heartedly agree that it would probably not look good but I am one of those people who has to see it for myself.

    Below is the thread where DrP claims this software exists and that the result looks pretty good!

    http://www.videoredo.net/msgBoard/showthread.php?p=17183#post17183
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by videomaniac
    Originally Posted by manono
    Hi-

    AviSynth can do it for you, if I understand you correctly. It can resize it, telecine it, if necessary, even sharpen it up a bit. It can then frameserve to the encoder of your choice. The whole exercise sounds kind of pointless to me, though.
    What I am looking for is the 'encoder of your choice'? I am not aware of an mpeg encoder that will allow you to specify 1920x1080, do you know of one that will?

    BTW I whole heartedly agree that it would probably not look good but I am one of those people who has to see it for myself.

    Below is the thread where DrP claims this software exists and that the result looks pretty good!

    http://www.videoredo.net/msgBoard/showthread.php?p=17183#post17183
    I took a look at the URL and DrP seems pretty sure there is a fair amount of software that will do the SD to HD. However, I can not seem to find anything!

    I have Procoder, CCE and few other mpeg encoders and none of them let you output anything even close to 1920x1080. I will keep looking!!
    bits
    Quote Quote  
  6. TMPGEnc Plus will let you encode at 1920x1080 if you pick one of the High profiles.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    many mpeg encoders will do hd ...

    main concept
    tmpgenc
    canopus
    pixel tools
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by BJ_M
    many mpeg encoders will do hd ...

    main concept
    tmpgenc
    canopus
    pixel tools
    Which Canopus product? I have Procoder Express and it does not allow it.

    I have just downloaded TMPGenc Plus Trial and I can not find a way to do it, although there may be restrictions on the trial.

    I will check out Pixel Tools. ---> At $4,000.00 this in not really an option!

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  9. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    pixel tools is 4000$

    canopus procoder does HD

    tmpgenc does HD


    main Concept does HD


    use high level, main profile in all the cases above ...
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  10. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    no one ever said hd is cheap ...

    and to get really really good upconversion quality takes a lot of skill and time (or a lot of money)
    "Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems." - Rene Descartes (1596-1650)
    Quote Quote  
  11. TMPGEnc:

    Setting -> Video

    Unlock the "Profile & Level" field and set it to "High Profile and High Level (HP&HL)".

    Then set the frame size. And remember to use a much higher bitrate than normal.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Yeah, DrP is talking about the same thing I had in mind. If you're handy with AviSynth, you can get some very surprising results. Here are a couple of threads that might help you:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=70916

    Page 7 of that thread has some pics with before and after.

    LimitedSharpen is my favorite AviSynth sharpener:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=84196

    Here's an AviSynth page to get you started with LimitedSharpen. I use LimitedSharpenFaster.:

    http://www.avisynth.org/LimitedSharpen

    Some (most?) of those guys in those threads are doing this for AVI (XviD mostly). There's nothing that says it has to be for MPEG-2. Use a good high bitrate matrix and the results can be astounding.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo
    TMPGEnc:

    Setting -> Video

    Unlock the "Profile & Level" field and set it to "High Profile and High Level (HP&HL)".

    Then set the frame size. And remember to use a much higher bitrate than normal.
    Thanks! I found it and it is working.

    manono wrote:
    Yeah, DrP is talking about the same thing I had in mind. If you're handy with AviSynth, you can get some very surprising results. Here are a couple of threads that might help you:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=70916

    Page 7 of that thread has some pics with before and after.

    LimitedSharpen is my favorite AviSynth sharpener:

    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=84196

    Here's an AviSynth page to get you started with LimitedSharpen. I use LimitedSharpenFaster.:

    http://www.avisynth.org/LimitedSharpen

    Some (most?) of those guys in those threads are doing this for AVI (XviD mostly). There's nothing that says it has to be for MPEG-2. Use a good high bitrate matrix and the results can be astounding.
    Thanks also! I will look more at this tomorrow.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Sounds interesting. If anyone actually tests these things then please report back with your results.

    TC
    My Dell PC system info.....3.0 Ghz Dual Core processor....... 8 gigs of ram DDR2...... Windows 7 professional 64 bit.......video card 1 GB memory DDR5 ram 800 mhz clock speed
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member Noahtuck's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    You do realize this is a 4 year old dead thread.... right ?


    The OP has not even been on site for 3 years!!
    LOL!!
    Originally a member since 2001, LONG LIVE TARAN's!!!
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2011
    Location: calif
    Search PM
    Power DVD 10 does a pretty good job, but it only works on files. You would have to rip the files on to your hard drive.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads