VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 9
FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 256
Thread
  1. yeah, i've tried them in a player and they matched perfectly. No outta sync moments at all. But whenever i preview them in virtualdub the get out of sync. I don't know what the issue is. I'm looking around for other options.

    BTW, is there a way to burn this avi onto a DVD and add in the subtitle file so you can choose to have them on or off? I searched this forum but all i could find was references to removing subs from a DVD and all that.

    thanks again!
    Burn baby, BURN!!!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Any authoring software that support subtitle multiplexing will do it.
    Here is a list:http://www.videohelp.com/tools?s=2#2. But some of them do not support subtitle multiplexing.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Italy
    Search Comp PM
    just look in the stickies! Depending on what you want to do:

    http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=267454

    http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=267417

    If that doesn't help, check out the guides...

    Here's one:
    http://www.videohelp.com/guides.php?link=729

    but most authoring softwares support switchable subtitles
    Quote Quote  
  4. ok, i've looked at those posts, and tried a couple of apps, AVI2DVD, MovieMachine, and DIKO. I think DIKO gave me the best results but heres the problem. It encoded the whole movie and output an MPV file. Heres the first problem, i played the MPV file and it was only 35 minutes long! my movie is 100 minutes. It did add the subtitles perfectly though. Also, with the outputs, it output a VIDEO_TS and an AUDIO_TS folders with nothing in them. It left me with unmixed video and audio files outside of the _TS folders. It didn't create vobs or IFOS whats the deal?

    i thought i had it for a second!
    Burn baby, BURN!!!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member bmwracer's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2003
    Location: Driver's Seat
    Search Comp PM
    Guh, I can't even get started: VobSub won't install... I direc tthe software to the directory where VirtualDub is located, but it says it can't find it... WTH???
    Frank Zappa: "People wouldn't know a good movie if it smacked 'em in the face."
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Use VSFilter instead. Simply rename vsfilter.dll to vsfilter.vdf and place in the plugin's dir.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2002
    Location: SOUTH WEST DETROIT
    Search PM
    Anybody know how to fix the
    "The source image format is not acceptable. (error code -2)"

    seriousely necro you should post your solution. I'm getting the same error.
    It's the M-O-N-O and I can't even spell the rest, it takes too long and I need another cigarette, I can't hear my right ear is mad wack, so stfu and listen or get an ass kickin
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member bmwracer's Avatar
    Join Date: Sep 2003
    Location: Driver's Seat
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by kgonepostl
    Anybody know how to fix the
    "The source image format is not acceptable. (error code -2)"

    seriousely necro you should post your solution. I'm getting the same error.
    I got the same error when trying to use the DiVx encoder, so I ended up using the xViD encoder instead.
    Frank Zappa: "People wouldn't know a good movie if it smacked 'em in the face."
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2002
    Location: SOUTH WEST DETROIT
    Search PM
    i'll let you know my results with an edit.

    Edit: everything seems to work properly I thank you. I was almost positive I tried this already but I must have forgot....silly me.
    It's the M-O-N-O and I can't even spell the rest, it takes too long and I need another cigarette, I can't hear my right ear is mad wack, so stfu and listen or get an ass kickin
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Canada
    Search Comp PM
    well hello ive followed this guide to a T yet when i try to save the file as an avi with virtualdub the subtitles wont come through so i tryed to frameserve it and it still didnt have subtitles in the final product if anyone can help me that would rock thanks ppl!
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    i try to install VobSub complete, it ask me 'Select Dir where Dit AviUtil is placed at' then what should i do ? did i put VirtualDub installed directory or ?
    Quote Quote  
  12. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    marthin: you must have selected vobsub for aviutil, you should select vobsub for virtualdub. see the first screenshot in the guide. or use vsfilter, see the tips in the guide.

    masadar: do you see the subs in the virtualdub preview window?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Israel
    Search Comp PM
    I tried to add arabic subtitles to the jungle book
    I see strange caracters only, when I play the same
    subtitle.srt file with BSplayer and change the font
    setting into arabic I get the right carecters

    when I open the srt file with notepad it appears in strange characters
    what should I do or where should I refer for help

    I solved this problem now I want that letters be bigger in size
    how do I do it

    zaher
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: Argentina
    Search Comp PM
    Hi i was trying to follow this tutorial but when i tried to encode it again the audio doesnt fits with the video
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: Argentina
    Search Comp PM
    Hi i was trying to follow this tutorial but when i tried to encode it again the audio doesnt fits with the video what can i do ?

    and when i open a file it says that Virtual dub has detected an improper vbr audio encoding in the source avi file and will rewrite the header with standar values. This is why i have defased audio? I have k lite mega codec pack

    What can i do ? thanks
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Follow the advice in the warning or use VirtualDubMod instead since it can handle VBR mp3 audio.
    Quote Quote  
  17. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    did you use virtualdubmod or virtualdub?? use virtualdubmod and reread my guide again.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Sorry if this is the wrong area to post

    Looking around, and still haven't figured it out yet.. getting
    TEXT onto my video as a subtitle. I thought this GUIDE would help,
    but so far, all I found close, was vsfilter and vobsub 2.3 filter
    is part of the install (plugin) which I did install.

    In vdub, vobsub 2.3 is listed, but I can't TYPE text to overlay
    onto my video -- ArGGG!

    Am I missing something.., like a .vdr filter ?

    Thanks for any tips

    -vhelp 3633

    VHELP's - Sample Clips [last: 12.29.06],
    my YouTube videos
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    You need to create a subtitle file seperately. If you just want to overlay a small amount of text check out AVISynth's subtitle filter.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Hi, ppl, tried to convert a 711 mb file with the subtitle and i choose
    Home Theather Profile with the "Bitrate of 780 kbit/s", and "balanced
    quality", the file was compressed to 511, witch scared me...
    the quality was good, when i tried in the standalone divx player,
    I tried the "Better quality"; "Extreme..."; and "Insane...", just to see the
    result on picture on the right, and what i understood was - the insane will
    have the most powerful compression, say 100 ou 200 mb, and the quality
    will be.. well... insane... have any of you tried this settings?
    I am now trying with the "Home Theater Profile" choosing my own bitrate,
    the default is 780 kbit/s, i will try 900.

    Could anyone give some feedback on this, must we, just, let the program
    work with the default settings? Or a bigger file size would have better quality?

    I do not know if this is the right place for this discusion.

    Thanks for any word.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Balanced, better quality, insane, etc. will all be the same size if you are encoding to a set bitrate. Insane should look the best though, but a lower setting shouldn't look much worse and should be much faster.

    Might I suggest a bitrate calculator to get the bitrate for the output size that you want.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Singapore
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dark_necrofear
    Thanks for your tips. I have come to the final step of saving the .avi, and i am getting the following error:

    video compression error: The source image format is not acceptable. (error code -2).

    Any ideas what this means?

    Cheers

    Mick
    hi.. i cant find the textsub lei..
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date: Nov 2002
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    As asked in the original guide... Did you INSTALL the plug-ins?!?!?!
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Singapore
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by kschang
    As asked in the original guide... Did you INSTALL the plug-ins?!?!?!
    oops, i install in the wrong location. thanks
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Singapore
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bruce leroy
    Nix that guys, I figured it out. Works great! Thanks!
    solved liao, me too.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Singapore
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by nojay
    I'm trying to edit hardsubs from an .srt file extracted from a .mkv container into a .avi taken from the same container. If I run Media Player Classic with both .srt and .avi files everything looks OK so I assume the raw files are not corrupt.

    When I try and install VobSub2.23 it proceeds all the way through to the end but doesn't terminate properly. I have to go into W2K Task Manager and kill it explicitly. I don't know if this affects its operation or whether it's just an annoying bug and the installation has been completed successfully.

    I use VirtualDubMod by preference and when I select the TextSub filter I get the appropriate options as shown on the howto. However when asked to select a subtitle file I choose the .srt file and click OK. The TextSub filter returns to the basic option screen where the [OK] button is greyed out. The text box that should hold the subtitle file name is blank. Nothing I can do seems to be able to get past this point.

    Any ideas? Is there an earlier version of VobSub that maybe works?
    ermmm... how to run Media Player Classic with both .srt and .avi files ar?
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Singapore
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by celtic_druid
    Follow the advice in the warning or use VirtualDubMod instead since it can handle VBR mp3 audio.
    VirtualDubMod is 1.5 is it? in my VirtualDub is 1.6. My 1.6 now got text sub but the video the sound is not sync. 1.5 it don have the text sub even i had done the above. pls help
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date: Dec 2004
    Location: Australia
    Search Comp PM
    You need to copy VSFilter to both apps plugin dirs. VDubMod won't detect plugins in VDub's plugin dir and vice versa.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you, Baldrick.

    Finally, a helpful guide that gets the job DONE!!! I have been reading help guides for about 15 hours now where a few sent me down a road where I almost gave up and called it quits, but I stuck with it, and all I wanted was just to do a 45 minute Subtitle project:

    Subtitles I opened with Notepad from an SRT file, and trimmed down and resaved just the subtext I needed. Then permanently hard encoded them from the AVI to a newly saved AVI. Easy once someone walked me threw it.

    Cheers.
    Jonathan P Esker
    Quote Quote  
  30. I have a bit of a problem, can I use the original VirtualDub to do this? I know the OP said to use VirtualDubMod, but the afterdawn tutorial I am using tells me to use virtualdub original to enocode the first and second pass of my video. What can I do?

    Also, should I have the vobsub filter on both first and second pass?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads