VideoHelp.com Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Hi, there, everybody, i've seen this thread http://www.cdrinfo.com/forum/tm.asp?m=71792, and it really got me wondering ! I was thinking of buying TAYO YUDEN DVD media, but how can i tell if they are real TAYO YUDEN DVD media ? Is there a way to do it ?
    What supplyers are reliable ? I mean where can you buy (in Europe), online or not ?
    I just can't see TAYO YUDEN DVD media for sale in the usual stores here in Portugal ? It's a bit strange, don't you think ?
    By the way, which ones should i buy ? The silvered or white ones ?
    I'm asking this because i intend to write on its surface the media content with a proper permanent pen. I think it doesn't damage the media, does it ?

    A little help on this matter would be appreciated,

    J. Silva
    Quote Quote  

  2. Member waheed's Avatar
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Manchester, UK
    I buy TY from SVP - www.blankdiscshop.co.uk They always sell the real thing.
    Quote Quote  

  3. Well theres a brand of media I have never heard of, try using DVD Identifier


    http://DVD.Identifier.CDfreaks.com
    Quote Quote  

  4. Member
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: Sweden
    TYG02 (-R) should have a serialnumber starting with letters GG and 6 digits near the dye.

    My TYG02 have serial GG000103.

    ---

    TY T02 (+R) should have a serialnumber starting with letters TG and 6 digits near the dye.

    My TY T02 have serial TG001159.

    If you order from www.os-mediatrade.de you get genuine Taiyo Yuden.

    Greetings
    snabel
    Quote Quote  

  5. Member MOVIEGEEK's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2002
    Location: CA,USA
    @JSilva,
    Buy silver top(matte) for felt-tip pens(do not use ball point) and white top for inkjet printers...DO NOT use adhesive labels.
    If you buy media in a store look for "made in Japan".
    Quote Quote  

  6. Member MeDiCo_BrUjO's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2002
    Location: Tampa, FL
    You have to look for a few guidelines when purchasing TY media (from my humble purchasing experience):

    1.- ALWAYS buy from reliable stores, I can't help you with stores in Europe, but in America, I know that Supermediastore is an authorized dealer of TY.

    2.- TY Media is not cheap. Indeed media prices are lower each day, but still it's not cheap. If it sounds too good to be true...

    3.- I have tried different presentations of TY and they all work great, so, as long as it is real TY you will have a great product.

    I usually use a sharpie marker to write on my discs and I've never had problems with them.

    My .02
    1f U c4n r34d 7h1s, U r34lly n33d 2 g3t l41d!!!
    Quote Quote  

  7. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: Want my advice? PM me.
    SVP is reliable in UK.
    Quote Quote  

  8. Made in Japan doesn't mean its TY. Could be Maxell same quality tho.
    Quote Quote  

  9. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Hostile Territory
    I just posted about "Matrix" DVD-R. Someone(LORDSMURF) posted that they're fakes but meritline.com sells "Matrix" DVD-R. They're supposed to be made by TY. Are they? here's the
    dvdinfopro screenshot
    Is what we learn indeed a fact, or someones opinon?
    Quote Quote  

  10. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date: Jun 2003
    Location: Want my advice? PM me.
    Originally Posted by macrovision
    I just posted about "Matrix" DVD-R. Someone(LORDSMURF) posted that they're fakes but meritline.com sells "Matrix" DVD-R. They're supposed to be made by TY. Are they? here's the dvdinfopro screenshot
    They're fake. If you don't believe me, call Taiyo Yuden. I don't where you've been for the past 3+ months, this is old news, not ago made public. FAKE FAKE FAKE FAKE FAKE.

    DVDInfo screenshots don't mean anything. It's a faked media ID.

    You're also mistaken. Meritline does not sell "Matrix" media. That is a shop4tech "house brand" name. Meritline may have these same discs, but they neither call them "Matrix" nor "TY". If anything, it's just "bulk house brand" type stuff.

    At any rate, this is all crap made by INFOSMART. Doesn't matter what pretty name gets slapped on it. It's fake crap out of their Hong Kong junk factory.

    Optodisc and Mitsui are also rumored to have snatched the fake TY IDs for some period of time.
    Quote Quote  

  11. Member
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Hostile Territory
    Thanks LORDSMURF! I GOT ALL THE PROOF I NEED. Anyway I hope they don't "F" up from minor scratches like the other cheapies I've used! I think I'm gonna go back to Ritek media. I can tell if they're real! Fake....Thanks again Lordsmurf. Believe it or not...you made my day! I'm over here with a Sh*t eating grin on my face...Laughing! It's O.K. I'll sell them and not use them for my backups. I had 100 for $15 cheapies....If you clean them with a soft cloth they will turn-up errors when you play them afterwards....and don't even think about retrieving the information...CRC error galore!
    Is what we learn indeed a fact, or someones opinon?
    Quote Quote  




Similar Threads

  1. Tayo Yuden Printable and Nero cover design
    By alexwick in forum Media
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2011, 10:00
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2009, 00:42
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th May 2009, 20:30
  4. tayo yuden cd-r watershield not verifying
    By mrtunes in forum Media
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th May 2009, 22:31
  5. 4:3 to fake 16:9
    By jin007 in forum Editing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2008, 22:08
Search   Contact us   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Tools