VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Search PM
    Hi.

    Good day!


    My issue is I got an error when i used libfaac & fdkaac to encoding audio.wav with ffmpeg

    my command for faac is

    ffmpeg -i test.wav -f wav - | faac -w -q 170 -o f1.m4a





    my command for fdkaac is

    ffmpeg -i test.wav -vn -f wav - | fdkaac -if - -ignorelength --profile 2 --bitrate-mode 3 -o song.m4a


    Regards.






    -
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	1983
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	37572  

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	1699
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	37573  

    Quote Quote  
  2. use:
    Code:
    ffmpeg -y -loglevel fatal -i "PATH TO INPUT"  -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | ..
    for those two encoders.

    Cu Selur

    Ps.: Also instead of making screenshots, simply copy the content of the command line window (right click, select all, right mouse click on the selected content, copies the content to the clipboard and 'ctrl+v can be used to paste it) and use 'code'-tags.
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Search PM
    hmm nothing happened, I got this message - faac

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\LENVOV\Desktop\ffmpeg\bin>C:\Users\LENVOV\Desktop\ffmpeg\bin\ffmpeg.exe
    -y -loglevel fatal -i test.wav -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | faac -w -q 170 -o f
    oo1.wav
    Freeware Advanced Audio Coder
    FAAC 1.28

    Usage: faac [options] [-o outfile] infiles ...

    <infiles> and/or <outfile> can be "-", which means stdin/stdout.

    See also:
    "faac --help" for short help on using FAAC
    "faac --long-help" for a description of all options for FAAC.
    "faac --license" for the license terms for FAAC.


    C:\Users\LENVOV\Desktop\ffmpeg\bin


    also I removed "y -loglevel fatal' just for test, I got the same error ^^" in the first topic

    -y -loglevel fatal -i test.wav -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | fdkaac -o song.wav
    -y -loglevel fatal -i test.wav -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | faac -w -q 170 -o foo1.wav
    Thank you for replying =)
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by searcing View Post

    also I removed "y -loglevel fatal' just for test, I got the same error ^^" in the first topic

    -y -loglevel fatal -i test.wav -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | fdkaac -o song.wav
    -y -loglevel fatal -i test.wav -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | faac -w -q 170 -o foo1.wav
    You need the "-" dash for stdin

    e.g

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.ext -acodec pcm_s16le -f wav - | fdkaac --ignorelength -m 2 -o output.aac -
    notice the extra "-" at the end
    Quote Quote  
  5. and the output extention of files created by aac encoders is not .wav
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Search PM
    Thank you guys =D

    I have one question, there's no different by using fdkaac or libfaac right ?
    Quote Quote  
  7. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by searcing View Post
    Thank you guys =D

    I have one question, there's no different by using fdkaac or libfaac right ?
    There exists at least one difference between faac and the Fraunhofer AAC encoder.
    This latter is more-efficient, id est, it needs less bitrate than faac for outputting the same quality.
    But if storage space is not important for you, then there is no problem in encoding stereo sources at 256, 320 or 384 kbps with faac
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Search PM
    Thanks a lot =)
    Quote Quote  
  9. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Thread would be better in our Audio Forum. Moving it.

    Moderator redwudz
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Search PM
    I came back to get advice =)

    Now I'm encoding Raw.wmv

    Video
    ID : 2
    Format : VC-1
    Format profile : Main
    Codec ID : WMV3
    Codec ID/Info : Windows Media Video 9
    Codec ID/Hint : WMV3
    Duration : 24mn 1s
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 1 872 Kbps
    Width : 640 pixels
    Height : 480 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 4:3
    Frame rate : 29.970 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.203
    Stream size : 322 MiB (93%)
    and this is my code

    Code:
    ffmpeg-10bit -async 1 -i Kindaichi_38.wmv -crf 16 -preset:v slow -pix_fmt yuv420p Kindaichi_38.mp4
    is there anything else that I can add in my code to encode a very good quality ?

    thanx
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	357
Size:	589.9 KB
ID:	37583  

    Quote Quote  
  11. ffmpeg has a bunch of filters that might subjectively improve the image quality, read: https://www.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-all.html#Video-Filters personally I use Avisynth or Vapoursynth for filtering and rarely ffmpeg so no recommendation from me there. (+ giving advice on improving a whole movie from a single screenshot is a fools errant)

    if you don't want to filter the content, simply use a lower crf value and/or a slower preset to archive a better quality retention.
    (if you go for lossless encoding you won't lose quality, but the file size will increase a lot)
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Search PM
    Actually I was going to use Avisynth for filtering, but before that I decided to get advice, because I just start using ffmpeg since 3 days
    at the end I think I don't have choice but use Avisynth.

    thanx again
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!